Meltaway Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
They don't resemble brownies in anyway. They are flat as a pancake and bitter. There is no levening in the receipe to make them reise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rex, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My kids loved these brownies but I think the unsweetened chocolate squares and relatively small amount of sugar gave it a slightly bitter, dark-chocolate taste. Nevertheless, with a few tweaks I think this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlu0223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I would rather eat leftover cocoa wheats. These are not brownies. The cocoa and butter taste good but I was too ashamed to let this out of the house. I thought it was going to be like a flourless cake but it is not something that should be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These were absolutely delicious!! I had no walnuts, so I omitted those, and I only baked for 20 minutes. The brownies are somewhat dense, very chocolatey and not too sweet. Just how I like them! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I used this brownie recipe for a class I am in. I needed a brownie recipe that includes water, because my class experiment is replacing water with a different ingredient (a nutraceutical) to add healthy benefits to the food. THis recipe was EXCELLENT for what i needed it for. They came out moist and cakey (I took them out 5-10 min early each time). I have made them at least once or twice each week for this class and they are very consistent. However, they are VERY dark chocolate. Anyone in my class that likes dark chocolate LOVED this recipe. If you are a more milk chocolate person, use semi-sweet chocolate instead and I think you'll enjoy the recipe more. Its deffinitely for Dark chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I had no idea chocolate could taste this awful! I'm not sure where this recipe goes wrong, but both the flavor and texture are very bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
my brothers absolutely loved these and they were quite easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
i personally loved this mixture! I love brownies but ive always found them too sweet. This however tasted slightly sweet but not over powering. i agree they were more cake than brownie but only just. so light yet chewy. i would say dont bother with salt and if you like it sweet just go for a sweeter chocolate. Thanks for posting this up! my partner will love them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
we did not like them, they smelled really good while cooking. They were bitter and on the dry side....yuck.....sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie  S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I am not sure if I did something wrong, but they turned out bitter and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States