Melt in Your Mouth Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
This has a very strong flavour, similar to the derby style marinade at Steak & Stein. It made lots, perfect for big summer BBQ get togheters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I used some of the suggestions that other reviewers had expressed.I used half the soy sauce that was advised it was also light soy(lower sodium). I used the 1/4 cup of brown sugar and let it marinate last night and all day today.It was to die for With the alterations made this is a 5 star marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
When I served NY strip steaks using the "melt in your mouth" marinade, one of my friends...a very discerning cook in his own right...said: "this is the best steak I've ever had". 'Nuff said...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
This is a great marinade for just about anything you throw on the grill. I double the recipe and save it in my fridge so that it's ready to go when I want to prepare something quick in the morning for that evening's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This did make sirloin so tender that it literally did fall apart. You didn't even need a knife to cut it. It reminded me of Chinese Beef Chow Mein. It was very salty even though I used low sodium soy sauce and I would definitely cut the ginger in half unless you want more of a Chinese restaurant quality. This would be good for marinating sirloin beef strips for any Chinese dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
The taste was really good, but this was a little too salty. I even used low sodium soy sauce. I used the full amount of garlic and ginger called for in the recipe and marinated a couple of tenderloin steaks. They were very tender, but as I said, too salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made this marinade but I 'beefed' it up a bit. I followed the recipe but I substituted 2 TBSP minced garlic from a jar and 3 TBSP prepared yellow mustard. On top of the recipe I added; 1/4 Worcestershire sauce, 1 TBSP McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak seasoning, 1 tsp Salt Free Garlic & Herb Mrs. Dash and 1/4 Cup Kraft Sweet'n Sour sauce. I bought a bulk pack of pork chops from the grocery store and used this marinade on them. I put the pork chops in Ziploc freezer bags and used 1/4 cup of marinade on each, then I put them in the freezer. I use this technique for all kinds of meat. I put marinade in the bags with the meat and put them in the freezer. Then I have stuff ready and flavorful so I can just take them out the night before. I only had 7 pieces and I still had some marinade left over. 1/4 cup was enough to cover the chops plus some, so, if you used a little less per chop you could easily marinade 10 pieces of pork out of this recipe w/ my additions. I put a pair of them in the fridge right away and made them the next night. They were AMAZING!!! Sooo good. They weren't super chewy but not melt in your mouth either. Not too salty either. Great recipe. I'll save this one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah Helms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was yummy. I marinated sirloin steaks in it. However, it was a bit salty. I'd take everyone else's advise next time and use half the soy sauce. I also added a couple cloves of fresh minced gahlic. I'll be making this again=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNBOSS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This recipe is soooooooo good. I tried it on pork chops and marinated them for four hours only, but they were still great. I did not think they were too salty, but just right; however, they may have been more salty had I marinated them longer. I believe a little water added to the recipe will probably make it just right for overnight marinating. I plan to use it for sirloin steak soon and will add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup water to the recipe for overnight marinating. Thanks for "a keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Mmmmm!!! Tasts just like soap!!! My husband and I thought this was nasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States