Melt-In-Your-Mouth Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chenango Bridge, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This recipe is amazingly good!!!! I sautéed my onions and garlic in butter removed them from the skillet and lined my crook pot with this goodness. I then took my short ribs that were coated in flour, kosher salt ad thyme and brown sugar and braised them in the butter mixture add them to the crook pot. I took a New Castle dark beer and deglazed my skillet and poured then juices into the crockpot only with the onion soup. I seasoned with Morton's seasoning and let cook on low for 8 hours. The flavor was amazing the family loved it. Didn't taste as if it were a pot roast like my ribs would normally taste. The hubby and kids loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious recipe. Tasted like pot roast to me and we loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbrowning
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was very good. Next time, I will remove some of the broth at the end of cooking, and refrigerate to bring fat up to top. Then will skim, and reheat in a saucepan, will thicken if necessary. I am sure it will make a killer gravy. As is, broth was very greasy, to be expected with the cut of meat. It has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Oh my gawd! Why this recipe isn't rated higher - I don't know. This was yummy for my tummy! I did make some modifications for example, used a dutch oven, I cooked the garlic and onions first in butter then added the meat and cooked until brown. I also added fresh thyme to the dish and my cook time was a lot less - I believe about 2.5 hrs. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Njoy cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used 2 lbs of good quality short ribs. The slow cooker method makes for very tender ribs but this recipe needs a lot of "seasoning" work. I also dredged the ribs in seasoned flour and braised on all sides. Halfway through the cooking process, I tasted the cooking luiquid. Worchester sauce, black pepper and sea salt to the rescue! Adding 1 -2 tbsp of Beef Better Than Boullion helped too. Had to add about 1/3 cup more flour to get the right consistancy for gravy. The cooking time of 9 hours was correct for my ribs. I'll work on my own recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Did not like the taste of these. They were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I was very disappointed. These were very tender, however, I just did not care for the taste/lack of taste. I went ahead and bought short ribs even though they looked extremely fatty, I should of chose another rib selection. If I make these again I will do something different. No beer, a different cut of ribs, a lot more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. The gravy was some of best that I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States