Melt-In-Your-Mouth Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made this for our dinner last night, 7/21/09 and we loved it! I did brown shallots and added a tablespoon of garlic as someone suggested. I also used brown rice to put it over, and added baby corn, carrots, pea pods and water chestnuts for crunch. I used Blue Moon Ale. Great flavor, easy to put together and definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Made this for dinner guests & family and you know what guests are like. I'm never sure if they are being honest or polite when they say something is good. - I found it very mild in flavor. The ribs were fall of the bone tender but something was missing. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ev's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
very tasty and tender. My husband found it too sweet so I will try again with less brown sugar? Needed something else - cnan't figure it out,any suggestions would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I needed a little more seasoning. The dark beer works very well. Try to buy ribs with with less amount of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Totally tasty dish. My ribs were very fatty so almost at the end of the cooking I took my meat baster and removed the fat from the top. I also used Onion soup as I could not find condensed French Onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The short ribs at my grocery were very fat so I substituted a couple of beef shanks at half the price. Each shank has a big marrow bone which lends a lot of flavor. We really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
DEEELICIOUS!!!!! Definitly use a darker beer tho...you get LOTS of flavor from these ribs, and don't worry about the alcohol part-it cooks away leaving a wonderful taste sensation for your tongue ; ) These ribs wil absolutly melt in your mouth!!! Everyone who tastes these will rave about all of the flavor, you can tweek with extra garlic etc. according to your tastes, but the original recipe here is a VERY good one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplestardust101

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlantic, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made these and they were delicious! I used Amber Bach beer (it's a dark beer) and it gave them such a wonderful flavor. I even used the liquid they cooked in to make gravy for the mashed potatoes. My boyfriend loved these and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie128504

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I looked this up for our daughter, then thought well OK I'd give them a try, OMG! I couldn't believe how good they were. I'm a pretty darn good cook and I usually take HOURS with my short ribs, smoking, then brasing, then blah blah blah. These were AWESOME. I picked all the meat off the bones at the end, meanwhile I added Red Wine and a little thickener to the gravey. I served them over mashed potatoes. We had a big Shiraz from Austalia. I would serve these to my gourmet club in a martini glass over mashed potatoes as an appetizer. Just enough to have them begging for more. They are VERY RICH, so you don't need a lot. ENJOY and Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I usually only try recipes that have been reviewed many times and have a good average rating. But, when I saw this recipe I knew I would love it. I was not put off by 2 out of 4 people that did not like it. Neither should you be. If you like the taste of meat cooked in beer (which is a little bit different, if you've never had it you may not expect what it will taste like) you will love this recipe. There is only one thing I would change (very small) in the whole thing: Chop up a couple of shallots and saute them with the garlic in a very small amount of oil or butter before you add them to the slow cooker. The shallots give it that extra umph and browning the garlic a little bit improves the flavor of the entire dish. Also, make sure you choose a nice dark beer, and one that you like. You will taste it. Enjoy! Its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States