Melt-In-Your-Mouth Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I liked this alot but my husband only thought it was ok. He is not a fan of pot roast and this had the same sort of flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
they were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These ribs were great. My boyfriend loved them. I did make a few changes as per some of the other reviews...I knew beef ribs would be very fatty so i cooked them the day before and shortened the cook time by an hour. I put them in the fridge till the next morning all the fat had turned solid so i was able to scoop it right off. Pluged them back up and cooked the last hour on high. I used goldend mushroom soup and they were wonderful served with homemade garlic mashed potatoes. This one was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
It was ok, but probably will not repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I thought this turned out just so-so. Will try this next time using bone-in ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby2cute

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Turned out quite nicely. I substituted Golden Mushroom for the French Onion soup and used a local microbrewed IPA for the beer. It had a slightly bitter undertaste due to the strong beer, but it worked quite well with this dish. The liquid also reduced to a nice gravy. The only suggestion I would make is to prepare the ribs a day in advance and refrigerate so the fat congeals and can be discarded since short ribs are so fatty. It would probably have a better taste too, like pot roast does on the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARTEMIS2854

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I thought this would have turned out fantastic but Hubby & I were not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The best beef rib recipes I have ever had. I typically smoke them and my wife was never a total fan of beef ribs. After this recipe we will be having ribs more often. Great flavor and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This wasn't bad! I used boneless short ribs. Instead of using cond. french onion soup, I used beef bouillon in 2 cups water, and added dry onion soup mix. I added extra garlic and about 1/2 tsp onion powder. I also tossed in some baby portabella mushrooms at the start and toward the end added some sauteed onions. Served over mashed potatoes. One of my sons, my husband and my mom all went NUTS for it! The other son doesn't care for meat in a crock pot. But said it was tasty. I cooked mine about 7 hours on low and I thickened the sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I'm not a short rib fan (hence 4 stars) but my husband is. I'm a sauce fan and the recipe was a hit for both my husband and I, although the next time I will cut back the brown sugar to 1 tbsp as it was a tad sweet for our tastes. I'll also try the browned shallots. I had the sauce on egg noodles while my husband ate just the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States