Melt-In-Your-Mouth Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
After reading all the other comments, I rubbed "better than boullion-vegetable" on each rib before going into the slow cooker, this improved the flavor tremendously. I really like this recipe, the beer is awsome and also the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Fantastic! I didn't have the condensed soup, so I used dry onion soup mix and a cup of water. I added a little parsley and sage and a chopped onion. We had a dinner guest and he asked me what kind of meat it was! Incidently, I used half beef and half pork ribs; I like to do the same when making a couple of roasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My primary displeasure could just be because of the nature of the meat--it's fatty. But I tried to see past that in my evaluation of this recipe. To me, the flavor was just not that enjoyable. That, in combination with the fattiness of the meat, made this recipe a "one and done" for me. I did enjoy how easy it was, and it sounded like it would be really good, and clearly, it is to some, just wasn't to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Leenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
We didn't like the beer flavor at all. It ruined it for us. I won't be making this again. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
It was a bit on the sweet side so next time I'll only add 1 tbsp brown sugar. I also didn't care for the taste from using the beer so next time I'll probably use beef broth. Other then that it was a good dish. Ribs were nice and tender and the sauce turned into a good gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I seasoned the ribs with salt and pepper, dredged them in flour, and sauteed them in oil until golden brown on all sides. Removed them from pan, then added the garlic (along with 2 finely chopped shallots) and cooked that until slightly browned. I combined all the other ingredients in a bowl and added the garlic/shallots to the bowl, put the ribs in the slow cooker, and poured the bowl over the ribs. Then I cooked them for 3 HOURS ON LOW!! Yes, LOW. The ribs came out perfect; fork tender, still clinging to the bone, but not turned to mush! Nice meaty, dark, full, "simmered all day" flavor. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I had to change it somewhat but the concept was wonderful. The grocery store had no short ribs so I settled with stewing beef. They also did not have the condensed soup that the recipe called for so I used a can of Campbells Cream of Mushroom and 1/2 package dry onion soup mix. Used all the rest of ingredients as listed in recipe. Cooked for 5 hrs on high and served over egg noodles. Was VERY tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These were very good and tender. We used Guinness beer and the flavor of that was a little strong. Still good, but next time we might try a different beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States