Melt In Your Mouth Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
OMG!!! can I give it 6 stars? I cut down the soy sauce to 1/2 cup and added crushed pineapple to it. Fried the chops (thick ones) to brown them, threw it all in the crockpot for a couple of hours and it was the best. Pulled apart with a fork and excellent flavor. The absolute best pork chops I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali1031

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
These were wonderful! They really were tender, full of flavor, and very easy to make. Based off of some reviews, here was my modified recipe: -1/2 c soy sauce -3/4 c teriyaki sauce -1.5 c pineapple juice -2 c water -1/2 c cornstarch (dissolved first in the water, warmed) -1/2 tsp garlic powder I heated up the previous ingredients in a saucepan; Rubbed 3 medium pork chops with ground pepper and a little minced garlic, browning each side for 3 min in a pan with oil over med; Placed browned pork chops in a slow cooker, covering with the saucepan liquid, and cooked on high for 1.5-2 hrs. My husband loved them (which is the ultimate test). I made these with asparagus w/ balsamic butter from this website, and it was a fantastic dinner. Thanks for the reipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This is a great recipe. I read the other reviews and I too was concerned about the salt so I used low sodium soy sauce and teriyaki sauce. I also used pineapple juice instead of water. This gave the pork a fantastic sweet and tangy taste. I also used the sauce to stir fry some veggies. My husband loved it. The only mistake that I made was not making enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
What am I doing wrong with this recipe? I've made this twice because I want it to come out right. I absolutely LOVE the taste of the sauce. Used low-sodium terriyaki as suggested. But, my chops have come out dry and tough both times. I'm still giving it 4 stars because the sauce is fantastic. And my family said they like it though, despite the dryness. Must be something I'm doing wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This recipe officially wins as producing the moisted chops EVER. I browned the chops then put all ingredients in a crockpot and cooked on low for about 4 hours... meat was soo moist ..could cut with a fork! I also used low sodium soy sauce. I think I could have used about half the soy/teriyaki and would have had plenty to cover the chops and cook..seemed like a lot of sauce was wasted...but overall great flavor and with some tweaking is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I followed the earlier suggestions of using low salt soy sauce and teriyaki sauce. Instead of the 2.5 cups of water, I used 1.5 cups of water and two 8oz cans of crushed pineapple w/ juice. It turned out wonderful, a definate keeper! (served with rice pilaf and green beans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Excellent and really easy recipe. The meat was tender and full of flavor. Cut back on the soy a little by preference and add red pepper flakes for a little kick at the end. Also using some pinapple or OJ next time sounds like "stepping it up a notch"! Five stars for taste and ease of recipe. Thanks Joan! Will cook this for my family often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have been making a similar recipe for 20 years and have found that covering the skillet with a lid as the chops simmer helps to keep them very moist. Just check periodically to insure that the liquid hasn't simmered away. Hope this helps . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I followed the recipe and found the chops to be very dried out and very salty. No one wants to see this one again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I've made this several times because when the kids finish their dinner it becomes a regular. Though I have learned to use low sodium soy sauce because the first time I tried it the salt was a bit overwhelming. Now it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenuine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States