Melt In Your Mouth Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Consider yourself warned by this recipe's submitter: This is NOT a soft and chewy cookie. Since this recipe did not specify how big the dough balls should be, I shaped mine into 1-inch balls. I ended up with enough for five dozens. If you are going to roll them into 1-inch balls, DEFINITELY decrease the baking time. I baked them for only 10 minutes, and they turned out quite dark and very crunchy. If I use this recipe again, I may try baking them for only 7 to 9 minutes. Also, when I first looked at this recipe, I was surprised by the amount of salt that it called for. I decreased it to 1/4 teaspoon. Later I found another recipe on this web site called "Chewy Peanut Butter Cookie" that had the EXACT ingredients with no salt at all. Since my family prefers a softer and chewier cookie, I will probably go back to my old recipe. Yet if you like a crunchy cookie, this recipe may just fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is a great recipe for use with a cookie press. As I normally do with cookie recipes, ...I reduced the sugar(s) to 3/4 cup (each), omitted the water and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead. I used the 7 point star mold and pressed an oversized chocolate chip in the center of each before baking ...for only 8 minutes. The cookies came out perfect and they really do melt in your mouth! (P.S. I became a member at allrecipes.com, just so that I could review this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
These cookies are delicious. It was nice to have a peanut butter cookie recipe for the cookie press. They were a big hit for the holidays. Plus, they freeze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica B
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I am in love with this cookie! I was wanting to try something other than a traditional spritz cookie this christmas and I love peanut butter so I gave this a try. I followed the recipe exactly except used margarine instead of shortening and I only baked for 10 minutes exactly. They were chewy and soft and WONDERFUL. So depsite all the reviews, and the posters insistence that these aren't a chewy cookie, mine turned out perfect. Perhaps it was the shorter baking time. I highly recommend this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These were really good, my hubby loves peanut butter cookies of any kind and he really loved these. I did cut the flower just a little to make them a bit crispier and less fluffy but other than that I stuck with the recipe. I made two batches and froze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
They really do melt in your mouth. Husband loves these cookies. I have made them a few times. They are great everytime very easy to make.. Only thing different I did was omit the water and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla.. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
What a nice change from spritz for the cookie press! The 8 minutes was perfect in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ATLGIRLJJ
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were the first thing I made with my new cookie press, and they were really good - not too sweet, easy to press, quick to bake. The recipe made a million and I turned half of them into sandwich cookies with peanut butter and marshmallow cream. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLGIRLJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I made these last night for practice, and they came out nicely, but I would only give 3 stars because I had to follow the review before this: omit the water , add vanilla and reduce the sugar. They came out a bit too doughy, so I would reduce the flour to 2 - 1 34 cup because I like stickier peanut butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyStarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The best ! Just what I was looking for ! Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherina

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States