Melt In Your Mouth Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Consider yourself warned by this recipe's submitter: This is NOT a soft and chewy cookie. Since this recipe did not specify how big the dough balls should be, I shaped mine into 1-inch balls. I ended up with enough for five dozens. If you are going to roll them into 1-inch balls, DEFINITELY decrease the baking time. I baked them for only 10 minutes, and they turned out quite dark and very crunchy. If I use this recipe again, I may try baking them for only 7 to 9 minutes. Also, when I first looked at this recipe, I was surprised by the amount of salt that it called for. I decreased it to 1/4 teaspoon. Later I found another recipe on this web site called "Chewy Peanut Butter Cookie" that had the EXACT ingredients with no salt at all. Since my family prefers a softer and chewier cookie, I will probably go back to my old recipe. Yet if you like a crunchy cookie, this recipe may just fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This is a great recipe for use with a cookie press. As I normally do with cookie recipes, ...I reduced the sugar(s) to 3/4 cup (each), omitted the water and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead. I used the 7 point star mold and pressed an oversized chocolate chip in the center of each before baking ...for only 8 minutes. The cookies came out perfect and they really do melt in your mouth! (P.S. I became a member at allrecipes.com, just so that I could review this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
These cookies are delicious. It was nice to have a peanut butter cookie recipe for the cookie press. They were a big hit for the holidays. Plus, they freeze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica B
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I am in love with this cookie! I was wanting to try something other than a traditional spritz cookie this christmas and I love peanut butter so I gave this a try. I followed the recipe exactly except used margarine instead of shortening and I only baked for 10 minutes exactly. They were chewy and soft and WONDERFUL. So depsite all the reviews, and the posters insistence that these aren't a chewy cookie, mine turned out perfect. Perhaps it was the shorter baking time. I highly recommend this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These were really good, my hubby loves peanut butter cookies of any kind and he really loved these. I did cut the flower just a little to make them a bit crispier and less fluffy but other than that I stuck with the recipe. I made two batches and froze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
They really do melt in your mouth. Husband loves these cookies. I have made them a few times. They are great everytime very easy to make.. Only thing different I did was omit the water and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla.. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
What a nice change from spritz for the cookie press! The 8 minutes was perfect in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ATLGIRLJJ
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were the first thing I made with my new cookie press, and they were really good - not too sweet, easy to press, quick to bake. The recipe made a million and I turned half of them into sandwich cookies with peanut butter and marshmallow cream. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLGIRLJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I made these last night for practice, and they came out nicely, but I would only give 3 stars because I had to follow the review before this: omit the water , add vanilla and reduce the sugar. They came out a bit too doughy, so I would reduce the flour to 2 - 1 34 cup because I like stickier peanut butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyStarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The best ! Just what I was looking for ! Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherina

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States