Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Very tasty. Didn't change anything in the recipe, cooked it longer (working). Everyone in the house liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eastern Passage, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
5 stars Added garlic. Best meat loaf I've fixed for a while. Try new ones all the time. Very moist and kept its shape. Didn't fall apart when sliced. Cooked it in the oven at 350 for 1 hour. The sauce was extremely good. Will use this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
HIgh Five for this one...a tasteful meatloaf. I didn't have mushrooms to add to the meat, but my husband and I didn't miss them. My only change is to reduce the amount of salt. Next time I will use 3/4 tsp. Nice and tight texture and stayed together when sliced. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethel M. McMullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Excellent... I cleaned up some red potatoes and put them around the outside of the meatloaf for the last couple hours and they were yummy... seems to just steam the potatoes... also I put crunched up foil on the bottom of the crockpot and meatloaf on top so any grease would be drained away from meat... works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
it was definitely a yummy and juicy meatloaf and I would make it again. I would make it with minced garlic next time, as other reviewers suggested. It actually stayed together in loaf form, and I didn't expect that! The main reason I give it only 3 stars is that it could have been more flavorful (although DOUBLE the sauce - it's delish!) but mostly because the recipe calls for sliced mushrooms. When I mixed the meat mixture together I really felt like I should chop the mushrooms a little more. But I kept to the recipe (I made it exactly as written.) The sliced mushrooms were a little too big and looked weird and made the loaf fall apart more than it would have - again - it DID stay together better than I expected, but had the mushrooms been chopped, it would have been MUCH better, texture-wise. I'd probably recommend 1/2 inch dice for the mushrooms or even, maybe I'll throw 'em in the food processor to get a nice even rough chop. You could even throw in fresh onion and garlic too (first, before mushrooms) to get a nice homogenous mix before adding to the eggs, milk, breadcrumbs....I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I'm a fairly young chef (24) and this is the first time I've ever made meatloaf, since it's one of my boyfriends favorites. We both LOVED IT. I took the advice of other reviews: Add minced garlic (2 cloves), finely chopped onion (1/2 an onion), cup of mushrooms(finely chopped), definitely double the size of the sauce and I omitted the ground mustard & sage (none on hand). I baked it in a loaf pan for an hour, applied the sauce and cooked for another 15 minutes @ 350. I served this with cauliflower mashed potatoes and a mushroom gravy. Needless to say I did not see leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Yum! This was absolutely fantastic!!! Both my hubs and I REALLY enjoyed this (which is a HUGE plus considering my husband isn't a meatloaf fan, let alone a GLAZED meatloaf fan!). My neighbor and I both like to cook and often share recipes with each other. She recently asked if I had a recommendation for a slow cooked meatloaf. I didn't (the last slow cooker meatloaf I attempted was not to my liking), so she did a search on here and found this recipe. She and her husband liked this a lot, so of course I had to try this out for myself. :) Other than omitting the mushrooms altogether (we hate them) and adding a t of garlic powder, I made no significant changes. I used ground chuck to ensure my meatloaf would remain moist (I was afraid lean sirloin would produce a dry meatloaf and ground round would be too greasy). My slow cooker has a thermometer / probe setting, so I used that to cook my meatloaf (FYI, it took about 4 hours to reach an internal temperature of 160 degrees F). NOTE: Once cooked, I carefully removed my meatloaf, drained the grease, added it BACK to the slow cooker and proceeded as directed. Homemade mashed potatoes, green beans and crescent rolls perfectly complemented our "homey" meal. Thanks SO much for sharing this easy and delicious meatloaf recipe, NightHawk! I wasn't expecting much, but you sure made a believer out of me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Love this... Make it all the time.. Cook for 1 hour or 1 hour and half @ 400degrees...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This didn't sound like it was going to be very good but it is delicious!! It sounded strange to make meatloaf in a slow cooker, but it works and is fantastic! I did not make any changes to the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I have been doing meatloaf in the slow cooker for many years now....it truly is wonderful, moist & tasty. Turkey loaf is great too. If you have an issue with removing it from the cooker, just make two double strips of aluminum foil (or 3) and put them in the pot first, leaving enough foil to hang out of the cooker to help remove it to your platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States