Melt In Your Mouth Honey Lemon Merry Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Don't say yuck until you've made these correctly. This recipe requires shortening- 1/3 c as another reviewer noted. And it must be shortening, not margarine or butter. Also the dough must be chilled for 2 hours (or more- I've made the dough 1 day in advance. I've made these since I was a kid and they are my sons' favorite Christmas cookie. I watch these cookies in the oven- 10-12 minutes is usual depending on your oven-know your oven! I do not frost the cookies, but will put colored sugar on some of them. I agree that the dough is tricky- however, if you chill the dough and have a cold rolling pin and a cold surface (granite/ solid surface), the cookies come out fine- you may also want to roll the dough a little less than 1/4". Do not add too much flour in the rolling process- that makes them hard, too. If you want a more honey-lemony cookie, don't be afraid to increase the honey and/or lemon just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Sorry....this recipe also calls for 1/3 Cup shortening. They are great cookies, but very tricky dough. You don't want it too moist or they stick...to dry and they get tough. These are also easily burnt...if they brown at all, then you've waited too long to get them out of the oven. Just slightly golden in color. Rory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
YUCK! Tasteless and didn't even help to put a sweet frosting on them. They were hard and tasteless. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEF1127
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made these, but my honey was crystallized, and it changed the entire recipe. The dough was very hard to work with. However, after I kicked myself for that, the flavor, was Very nice! Reminded me a cup of tea. I will try them again, with honey, that pours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF1127

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
*** Make sure you ice or frost these! Very lackluster cookie when plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
What a great sugar cookie recipe! These cookies are SO incredibly soft and the amazing thing is that there is no butter, oil, or shortening in them! I made these cookies three times over the holidays because they kept getting devoured-- even by my skeptical teenage brothers and husband. They don't taste just like sugar cookies because of the lemony hint of flavor in them, but since they are a nonfat option, I will be making these INSTEAD of the traditional sugar cookies every time! Since I don't have children old enough to eat sweets yet, when they can eat them, this is what they will come to know as "sugar cookies"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
We make these every Christmas and they are a family favorite! Be sure not to overbake them and they are soft & chewy. I use Christmas shaped cutters and decorate them with a confectioner's glaze. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Tharlow said really "lackluster" if not Iced.......I think the recipe was really REALLY tasteless and I feel as though the public needs to be warned. Mine came outta the oven and were hard and well, I'll stop there. Overall if you want something to dunk and dunk and dunk again in your tea or coffee- Make 'em otherwise step away from the recipe people just step away........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
A nice cookie, but I'm going to futz with the ingredient amounts a little. And you definitely need flour on hand to roll out the dough. Also, in my oven, the directed temperature baked them *much* faster than 8-10 minutes. In fact, to avoid them getting brown, as the recipe directions instruct, I had to take them out in only *5* minutes. Maybe it was the thickness at which I cut the cookies, but I liked the height to which they poofed, so I'm going to use the same again. All in all, a pleasant cookie, good with coffee or tea, but a lot of work....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
It's really good when brushed with butter before baking and drizzled with honey after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ferguson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States