Melt In Your Mouth Honey Lemon Merry Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I have been making "Merry Christmas Cookies" ever since I could stand on a chair and help my Mom stir the cookie dough. This recipe is incomplete, the original recipe that was in the "Betty Crocker's New Picture Cook Book", published in 1961, called for 1/3 cup of soft shortening. It also said you could use vanilla or lemon extract. I don't chill my dough either. Also, if you roll them out just a bit thicker than 1/4 inch (don't use too much flour, that does make them tough), and remove them from the oven when SLIGHTLY underdone they come out soft and cake-like. There is also an icing recipe that goes with the cookie. ICING RECIPE: 1 cup powdered sugar 1/4 tsp. salt 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract 3/4 tbsp. water food coloring Mix all ingredients except food color. Then tint as desired with the food coloring. (I prefer to use gel or paste food colors.) I hope this helps clear things up. These are really very good cookies. The page wouldn't let me post unless I rated them, so as the recipe stands, I'm only going to give it 1 star because it's an incomplete recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tena Lock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Absolutely did not like these at all. Followed the recipe to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodArtist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEF1127
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made these, but my honey was crystallized, and it changed the entire recipe. The dough was very hard to work with. However, after I kicked myself for that, the flavor, was Very nice! Reminded me a cup of tea. I will try them again, with honey, that pours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF1127

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was only 'okay' in my opinion. I saw some reviews later suggesting other things to try. Having those improvements in the actual recipe would be much more beneficial and would result in a better product. These were not as good as I had hoped or expected They were nice and soft though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Don't say yuck until you've made these correctly. This recipe requires shortening- 1/3 c as another reviewer noted. And it must be shortening, not margarine or butter. Also the dough must be chilled for 2 hours (or more- I've made the dough 1 day in advance. I've made these since I was a kid and they are my sons' favorite Christmas cookie. I watch these cookies in the oven- 10-12 minutes is usual depending on your oven-know your oven! I do not frost the cookies, but will put colored sugar on some of them. I agree that the dough is tricky- however, if you chill the dough and have a cold rolling pin and a cold surface (granite/ solid surface), the cookies come out fine- you may also want to roll the dough a little less than 1/4". Do not add too much flour in the rolling process- that makes them hard, too. If you want a more honey-lemony cookie, don't be afraid to increase the honey and/or lemon just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
It's really good when brushed with butter before baking and drizzled with honey after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ferguson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
a decent coffee cookie IF you add 1/2 cup butter (and even with the extra butter the cookie is still hard) and 1/2 brown sugar to tone down the honey flavor a little more. For personal taste I also added1 tsp more of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
We make these every Christmas and they are a family favorite! Be sure not to overbake them and they are soft & chewy. I use Christmas shaped cutters and decorate them with a confectioner's glaze. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Sorry....this recipe also calls for 1/3 Cup shortening. They are great cookies, but very tricky dough. You don't want it too moist or they stick...to dry and they get tough. These are also easily burnt...if they brown at all, then you've waited too long to get them out of the oven. Just slightly golden in color. Rory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Tharlow said really "lackluster" if not Iced.......I think the recipe was really REALLY tasteless and I feel as though the public needs to be warned. Mine came outta the oven and were hard and well, I'll stop there. Overall if you want something to dunk and dunk and dunk again in your tea or coffee- Make 'em otherwise step away from the recipe people just step away........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States