Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Wow! very easy recipe and the taste is great. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everythingfromscratch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Instead of the 1/4 cup of sugar make it 1/2 cup and you won't be sorry! I made two cakes at the beginning and my husband said it wasn't sweet enough. I gave the recipe to my sister in-law and she added the extra sugar and everyone at her work wanted the recipe. She also brought it to a gathering and they also wanted the recipe. The best recipe for blueberry cake I've had and I have tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I just made this cake and had to pry myself away from the counter for fear of eating it all by myself! Inspite of not separating the egg yolks from the whites, the cake turned out beautifully. I did double the recipe and used some extra blueberries. The only change I would make next time would be to try baking it in a springform pan because I had a hard time removing the cake from the nonstick pan I baked it in. Can't wait for my family to try it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is one of the better blueberry cakes on this site and we love it except it does need some grated lemon rind to compliment the fruit. The method (folding in the egg whites) gives it such a beautiful texture. If the recipe is followed and properly beaten it never fails. The only reason I rated it 4 is because it does need some extra flavoring, but again this is a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I guess i did something wrong when i was mixing the egg whites, because it didnt taste that good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Fantastic! Very light cake and compliments blueberries very well. Based on other reviews I did make a couple changes. First, one review mentioned that it was a lot of work for an 8X8 size dish so I doubled the recipe and used my trusty 9X13. Cook time was about the same and it rose just fine. Second, I used twice as much vanilla as called for and a few extra blueberries, and I think this one change really added to the flavor level. The only negative was that (maybe due to one of the changes) my berries did sink to the bottom during cooking, however, even with most of the berries on the bottom the cake cut nice and came together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is pretty darn good! I put extra blueberries on top and it looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
good but labor intensive for a small cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I love this cake! It was very moist and cooked perfectly... Yes it had a lot of steps but any great thing takes time. For those who had issues might have missed steps or tried to rush through this recipe because it wasn't bland it had great flavor and the blueberries did not sink to the bottom. I almost didn't make this cake because of a few bad reviews but my husband looked over the recipe and said it I should just try it and I'm glad I listened to him and so is he. He loves this cake too... Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeLover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States