Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Followed recipe as written. But had to use frozen berries. I suggest if using frozen berries that the whites be folded in before adding. Otherwise the batter is too stiff to fold in whites properly. Will make again but needs some sweetness. Will top with streusel next time. Had a nice texture and rose very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I thought it was a lot of work for something that tasted like muffins that came from a box :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Wow! very easy recipe and the taste is great. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everythingfromscratch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Instead of the 1/4 cup of sugar make it 1/2 cup and you won't be sorry! I made two cakes at the beginning and my husband said it wasn't sweet enough. I gave the recipe to my sister in-law and she added the extra sugar and everyone at her work wanted the recipe. She also brought it to a gathering and they also wanted the recipe. The best recipe for blueberry cake I've had and I have tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I just made this cake and had to pry myself away from the counter for fear of eating it all by myself! Inspite of not separating the egg yolks from the whites, the cake turned out beautifully. I did double the recipe and used some extra blueberries. The only change I would make next time would be to try baking it in a springform pan because I had a hard time removing the cake from the nonstick pan I baked it in. Can't wait for my family to try it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is one of the better blueberry cakes on this site and we love it except it does need some grated lemon rind to compliment the fruit. The method (folding in the egg whites) gives it such a beautiful texture. If the recipe is followed and properly beaten it never fails. The only reason I rated it 4 is because it does need some extra flavoring, but again this is a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I guess i did something wrong when i was mixing the egg whites, because it didnt taste that good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Fantastic! Very light cake and compliments blueberries very well. Based on other reviews I did make a couple changes. First, one review mentioned that it was a lot of work for an 8X8 size dish so I doubled the recipe and used my trusty 9X13. Cook time was about the same and it rose just fine. Second, I used twice as much vanilla as called for and a few extra blueberries, and I think this one change really added to the flavor level. The only negative was that (maybe due to one of the changes) my berries did sink to the bottom during cooking, however, even with most of the berries on the bottom the cake cut nice and came together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is pretty darn good! I put extra blueberries on top and it looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
good but labor intensive for a small cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States