Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
i'm a relatively harsh recipe critic. but i must say - this was FANTASTIC. funny story - i spent nearly $20 on this cake (my baking supplies were horribly limited, lol). beautiful, fresh blueberries. real butter. the prettiest cake i've ever seen in my life. i took it out of the oven..proudly carried it to the counter...my cat spooked me...i jumped, and the ENTIRE cake came flying out of the dish onto the countertop, smashing into pieces. lol. i had just sterilized my counter from baking so i stood there contemplating whether we should still eat it. haha. we did. i turned it into blueberry 'crumble'. i'd make it again, ten times over, and i plan to share it with everyone i know. your mom is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is a keeper. Reminds me of Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins. The batter is very thick before the addition of the egg whites. Prior to adding the berries I loosened the batter by mixing in 1/4 of the beaten egg whites. Then I folded in the remainder of the beaten egg whites. I didn't have a problem with the berries sinking. I defrosted berries, patted mostly dry, sprinkled with flour before stirring into thinned batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I did it for work and it is a big success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe is too hard to make. The batter was so stiff that it took forever to add the milk and flour alternating. I was not using an electric mixer, instead doing it all by hand and my arm was really tired by the time I finally finished mixing. In addition, I used frozen blueberries. After I managed to get the blueberries mixed into the dough, the mixture stiffened so badly that the whipped egg white was impossible to incorporate. I believe you must have electric equipment to make this properly. I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Good basic cake. Nice texture, doesn't need a topping or icing. After seeing a few reviews of the "blandness", I wanted to add an extra punch just in case. I replaced the 1/3 cup milk with 1/3 cup fresh orange juice, and added a teaspoon of orange zest. I followed most of the steps, but I didn't not whip the egg whites into peaks. Regardless, it turned out really well! Come to think of it, I could have replaced the vanilla with orange extract. I will be returning to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe is a definite keepr. I have made it both with dairy and dairy free and you can't even tell the difference. Replace butter and milk with soy butter and soy milk and voila!! I've also quadrupled the recipe with great success!!! I love LOVE love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I found this to be dry and a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
AMAZING! The only thing different that I do is that I DOUBLE the recipe when I make it! I also add a lemon frosting that consists of powdered sugar, lemon juice, shredded lemon peel, and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie N.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Loved it!! Was easy to make, a nice breakfast or brunch cake, not too sweet, moist, and the little crust that forms on top is great, its very pretty to serve. I will say I did change only two things after reading the other reviews - I added an extra ripe banana to the batter (only because I had one to get rid of.) I also added a teaspoon of almond extract, which I add to almost all of my cakes, breads, and muffins. I had some leftover cream cheese frosting from another recipe, and we put a dab of that on top once it hit the plate. We LOVED it. Thanks so much for sharing. Will add this to my box and surely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
this was the sweetest, light & fluffiest blueberry cake I have tried so far this year ! Love it, family wants more, was gone in a flash !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Neumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, New York, USA
Living In: Liberty, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States