Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
It was a little dry, but otherwise very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I think what some reviewers are missing in this cake is cinnamon and some lemon juice. Add a 1/2 teaspoon or so cinnamon to the batter along with a Tablespoon of lemon juice and some lemon zest. It will really zing this recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
wonderful! made this for sister-in-laws B-day, had 7 yr old niece carry it to table, she dropped it but we still sung happy birthday and blew out candles on the floor! very tasty cake, will certainly make again soon and serve on the table this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Not bad, but it needed...something. I added turbinado sugar on top before baking. I think it needs some lemon zest to "brighten" up the flavour a bit. I do like how subtly sweet it is though. Yum! Baked mine for 30min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I simplified this great summer cake. I use 2 whole eggs, a total of 3/4 cups sugar and omitt the tablespoon of sugar and flour from the end of the recipe. This is not necessary with fresh blueberries, in particular the large variety nowadays available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
i'm a relatively harsh recipe critic. but i must say - this was FANTASTIC. funny story - i spent nearly $20 on this cake (my baking supplies were horribly limited, lol). beautiful, fresh blueberries. real butter. the prettiest cake i've ever seen in my life. i took it out of the oven..proudly carried it to the counter...my cat spooked me...i jumped, and the ENTIRE cake came flying out of the dish onto the countertop, smashing into pieces. lol. i had just sterilized my counter from baking so i stood there contemplating whether we should still eat it. haha. we did. i turned it into blueberry 'crumble'. i'd make it again, ten times over, and i plan to share it with everyone i know. your mom is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is a keeper. Reminds me of Jordan Marsh blueberry muffins. The batter is very thick before the addition of the egg whites. Prior to adding the berries I loosened the batter by mixing in 1/4 of the beaten egg whites. Then I folded in the remainder of the beaten egg whites. I didn't have a problem with the berries sinking. I defrosted berries, patted mostly dry, sprinkled with flour before stirring into thinned batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I did it for work and it is a big success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe is too hard to make. The batter was so stiff that it took forever to add the milk and flour alternating. I was not using an electric mixer, instead doing it all by hand and my arm was really tired by the time I finally finished mixing. In addition, I used frozen blueberries. After I managed to get the blueberries mixed into the dough, the mixture stiffened so badly that the whipped egg white was impossible to incorporate. I believe you must have electric equipment to make this properly. I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Good basic cake. Nice texture, doesn't need a topping or icing. After seeing a few reviews of the "blandness", I wanted to add an extra punch just in case. I replaced the 1/3 cup milk with 1/3 cup fresh orange juice, and added a teaspoon of orange zest. I followed most of the steps, but I didn't not whip the egg whites into peaks. Regardless, it turned out really well! Come to think of it, I could have replaced the vanilla with orange extract. I will be returning to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States