Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The blueberry cake was moist and had a good flavor. Part of enjoying your food is the appearance and this just looked OK. I was actually embarrassed to take it to my event. I should have looked at the other pictures posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was good. My boyfriend and I did enjoy it. The blueberries sank to the bottom however. It was sweet and the sugar hardened nicely on the top giving it a sweet thin crisp texture. It was moist as promised which was amazing. The bread tasted as if it lacked a little. Maybe next time I will double the vanilla? As always I followed the recipe as written. I can't give it 5 stars because it didn't make me go "Oh wow, this is good!" But I didn't have leftovers so it was better than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Really nice... The cake is super soft. My 19 month old son just loved it and so did my otherwise not so cake loving hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This cake was very moist and tasty. I used soft brown sugar and frozen blueberries (they need more than a tablespoon of flour coating to prevent them from sinking, I think). It was a bit of a faff whisking the egg whtes and folding them in, but it gave it a nice moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I would rate this five stars. I have made this recipe about four or five times already and it is my "go to" recipe when I have fresh blueberries in the house. I made it in a rectangular baking dish, probably 9" x 11" or 8" x 11" and as soon as I took it out of the oven I pricked it with a fork and based a confectioner's sugar and lemon juice glaze over the whole thing. Came out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G from Cleveland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great cake when made correctly. Anyone that had trouble mixing this or thought it was too thick, try mixing the merengue in, in 2 installments and make sure you use wild blueberries. Cultivated berries are tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kob
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This cake is fantastic!! Easy to make and very very delicious. Great way to use your fresh blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kob

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
did not rise....but made good squares. I think my baking powder is old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this cake one day and had it the next. Very dry - will not make it again. Followed the recipe the way it was written. First time a recipe from this site wasn't good. This was my husband's birthday cake- thumbs down!!!! Update- Do not put this cake in the frig. That is where I when wrong. Took it out and left it set on the counter. Amazing!!! Was moist and yummy. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
A wonderful cake--not too sweet either. I used a bunt pan and greased it with cooking spray, then sugar-coated the outside to give it a delicious sweet crust (which was my favorite part of the cake). I topped it off with a sprinkling of powdered sugar and it was delightful. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States