Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was just OK for us. It was a good cake, but I've eaten cakes prepared with better recipes. I thought that whipping up the egg whites would contribute to moisture, but it didn't. Overall, this cake was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I used frozen blueberries. I have to admit this cake takes lots of work and uses lots of bowls. I am not sure it's quite worth it though. It does come out very moist and delicious, just not totally perfect. I feel like it lacks a bit of flavour. I still gave it 5 stars because it could be due to the frozen blueberries. I may try again with fresh and update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was good but took too much time to put together. Very different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
very nice, as others mentioned more like a muffin than cake. Husband said it could have been a little moister, so we put strawberries & syrup on them as a shortcake. Most likely will not make again. Reading others comments, it was a lot of figure it out, than clearly written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
What a delicious cake! Followed the recipe exactly and it's fabulous. A couple of pieces of advice, though--it probably won't take 50 minutes to cook. I cooked mine 40 minutes but I wish I'd taken it out a few minutes earlier. Also, next time I'm going to add the blueberries last, because the more you stir the batter, the more the flour comes off the blueberries (and the more likely they are to drop to the bottom). This isn't a sweet cake, so I made a caramel glaze to drizzle over and topped it off with toasted pecans. There were only four of us at dinner and the cake is 2/3 gone already! Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCwriter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I thought this recipe was wonderful. I loved that it wasn't too sweet, which made serving it with vanilla ice cream scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsewnostalgic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is just like blueberry muffins! I LOVE IT! I will never buy blueberry muffin mix again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmsbeckie
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Made them into muffins, amazing! Next time I think I might bruise the blueberries a little or maybe use half blueberry juice and half the milk I don't know we'll see. Either way, these are pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmsbeckie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This cake was so easy to make and was SO good. softest cake ever! really does melt in your mouth. perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Mmmm... This is my grandmother's favorite Marjorie Standish recipe!!! I'm always asked for the recipe for this one. (Also good with strawberries subbed for the blueberries) Last time I added way too much milk and it still came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States