Melt In Your Mouth Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Fantastic! Very light cake and compliments blueberries very well. Based on other reviews I did make a couple changes. First, one review mentioned that it was a lot of work for an 8X8 size dish so I doubled the recipe and used my trusty 9X13. Cook time was about the same and it rose just fine. Second, I used twice as much vanilla as called for and a few extra blueberries, and I think this one change really added to the flavor level. The only negative was that (maybe due to one of the changes) my berries did sink to the bottom during cooking, however, even with most of the berries on the bottom the cake cut nice and came together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is pretty darn good! I put extra blueberries on top and it looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
good but labor intensive for a small cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I love this cake! It was very moist and cooked perfectly... Yes it had a lot of steps but any great thing takes time. For those who had issues might have missed steps or tried to rush through this recipe because it wasn't bland it had great flavor and the blueberries did not sink to the bottom. I almost didn't make this cake because of a few bad reviews but my husband looked over the recipe and said it I should just try it and I'm glad I listened to him and so is he. He loves this cake too... Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeLover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Meh. It was nice that it wasn't overly sweet and was moist. But I wasn't blown away. I definitely agree with other reviewers that you should nearly double the vanilla and extra blueberries are nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Very Yummy. Made it for the family and it was a hit. Makes awesome muffins too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tx2step31774

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Made two cakes. One exactly as the recipe states except we folded the blueberries in last, after the egg whites so they wouldn't fall to the bottom of the batter. We also made a little crumb topping. It turned out wonderful. The second cake we substituted raspberries for the blueberries, again folding them in last. And for this version we made a simple lemon zest icing which we spread over the cake once it was on the cooling rack. Then allowed the cake to fully cool and icing to set before cutting it and digging in :) This batter works great for the slightly delicate raspberries as well as blueberries. Awesome Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
nice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was great! I made it for my boyfriend and his parents, and they loved it. His dad even took some to work the next day for breakfast! They called it "blueberry muffin cake", which suits it well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGallagher55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States