Melt-Away Peppermint Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Since it seemed the main problem was getting the dough to stick together, I just made small cookies with a teaspoon size cookie scoop. Drizzled cookies with powdered sugar/milk glaze then dipped in crushed mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It took quite a while to make all the dough in the right colours and arrange them into the wreaths. For all the time it took, the cookies were a little weak in terms of flavour (not very sweet or very minty). I wanted to try making the dough into candy cane shapes as well but it was too dry. Some modifications to the recipe may be called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Mine didn't stick together so each piece of the wreath fell off. Tasted ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biggirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These are my kids favourite Christmas Cookies. My kids loved rolling the little balls. A little trick I use so they don't fall apart is to flatten them a bit with the palm of your hand. They still look nice and taste the same and they don't fall apart. I have never had any issues with this recipe and have never added an egg to it in order to keep the dough together. These also make really pretty spring flowers and you just need to change the colours of food colouring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These cookies did not stick together at all... even after cooling, just as another review had stated. I, too, doubled the peppermint extract amount, but they still had no flavor at all. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msandi
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I added 1 egg to the creamed butter along with 1 t. peppermint extract (instead of adding the extract after the flour). After reading the falling apart review, I figured it needed an egg. I had to add 6 drops of each food coloring. I did leave cookies on cookie sheet for 10 min before moving to racks. They are worth the effort - very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This cookie just was not for me it does not have a lot of flavor even after I doubled the pepermint extract. Once they were backed they fell apart and you could not even tell they were shaped like candy canes or wreaths. Will not ever use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chappell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
i've been using this recipe for the last 4 years and will continue to do so as long as i keep getting requests to make them. they are time consuming but well worth it, i promise :) the wreaths are fragile so you really have to let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for at least 10 minutes before moving them to a cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Nice tasting cookie but just way to much work in rolling all those little balls!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Donaghue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States