Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are really nice and do melt in your mouth! I added 1/8 cup more icing sugar as one poster suggested, as well as 2tbsp of lemon juice to give it a gentle lemon flavour. The lemon juice also helped make the mix easier to pipe through an icing bag with star tip. Love this recipe. So simple too! Will use again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Amazing.... My fiance is very picky and he loved them. One thing I did was putting the mixture in a piping bag with a big tip. Is hard to squeeze at first but they came out sooo beautiful, is less messy and sooo worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This recipe, is fast, quick and awesome. Day and night difference, when you use unsalted butter, that the recipe calls for....my "dough" didn't drop by the spoonful. However, I was able to measure by the spoonful and roll each in a soft ball, before placing on "parchment paper" . They all cooked evenly and was easy to remove. The only way I use a cookie sheet or cake pan, is if, it is covered with parchment paper. Good thing to remember is; if you see a little golden brown at the base of the cookie, it is time to remove them. The warm cookie will set and harden once it cools. Oh yes... I drizzled hot chocolate icing over mine and was in heaven..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious, easy, and delightfully simple. The perfect not-too-sweet cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made these twice and added in 2-3 t. of vanilla extract each time and next time I would likely up it to 1 T of vanilla paste. The first time I made them, they stayed puffed up. The second time I made them they flattened out into thin disks (probably because I didn't use enough cornstarch). Both times they were fantastic! I'm not sure why the recipe wouldn't call for vanilla in the first place...I imagine they would taste quite plain without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Once I figured out that it's not possible to make these with powdered butter, the results were awesome. Don't take shortcuts, and your shortbread cookies will float like air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made these for New Years. Kids liked them, I felt they needed a little something. They tasted real floury to me. I may try to add an extract of some kind next time. They were really light and melt in your mouth, just did not enjoy the flour after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The recipe has too little flour, another 1/2 cup was called for. Also, add a little more icing sugar, it gives it more taste. It's better to have the mixture a little more stiff for a better biscuit. Also, instead of spooning the mixture onto the tray, it's better to roll the mixture on a little of the icing surgar (powdered sugar). You want to make sure that you only roll out to 3/4 inch and cut into squares. Place on tray then prick with a fork on top. This is the traditional shortbread!!. VJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
AMAZING! I crushed some candy canes and mixed them in one batch and added some "Lemon Bakery Emulsion" to another, then dipped the baked cookies in a little powdered sugar. Since there are no raw eggs in this recipe, you can "taste as you go" for the amount of flavor a person wants. You could also add some peppermint oil (food grade please) as well. If a person is expecting sweet, this is NOT the recipe for you. These are wonderful w/coffee and/or tea cuz they aren't sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Yum! I made these exactly as directed, only I doubled it (it only makes like 2 dozen cookies per batch), and I chilled the dough in the fridge for several hours before. I think this way it helped them keep more of a ball shape (which I wanted). Also, I baked these in 1-inch balls for about 12' at 350, until the edges were JUST starting to brown. I put red and green sprinkles on them for Christmas, but I think other modifications that other reviews suggest sound yummy as well. I've made these twice now, and I found that the more I whip the butter, the more "melt-in-your-mouth" they are. Thanks for this recipe, I never thought I would be able to make a cookie like this so easily! Also, these are way better the next few days after they cool and harden a bit. I didn't have any problems with them being too crumbly (although they are a bit fragile - I think the ball shape helps).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States