Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I didn't find these as amazing as others, unfortunately. I whipped the butter for 15 minutes as someone else suggested and kept everything else the same, other than rolling in sprinkles and pressing flat. The taste was off. Almost like too much corn starch or something. It was definitely lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
they do not melt in your mouth, this is the first recipe from this site that didn't work out...:( still love the site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very easy to make. Definitely melt in your mouth. But boring. They really have no flavor. The first dozen I made plain. Bleh. The second dozen I added some almond extract to try to add some flavor. That helped. The third dozen I topped with a pecan half. The fourth dozen I took Jenmi's advice and piped them just to make them pretty. Those I will dip in chocolate. It's an ok recipe. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made these this evening and they turned out wonderful. My advice is to whip them vigoursly, as they come out light and fluffy. I garnished with green and red cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
OMG. My mother always told me there was an art to shortbread. NAILED it! Thanks :) This recipe was by far the very best shortbread I have EVER had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years. Without telling anyone the name, almost everyone says they're "melt in your mouth". My family can't wait until I make them each year. And they freeze well. I just made 15 dozen, hope they make it to Christmas....Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This a variation on the Melting Moments cookies from the yellow Argo Cornstarch box of the early 1980s.. that my children LOVED and are now making for their families! Genius recipe! use good (sifted) cocoa for about half the flour for true melting magic... or sub a good quality peanut butter for half (or more) of the butter (DO NOT USE MARGARINE) and they become a bite of heaven. Easily tinted to match a bit of extract for different flavors, and with or without frosting, sprinkles, etc. they are wonderful, easy, and convince your children, grandchildren, friends (and anyone else lucky enough to grab a couple) that you are a kitchen faery queen! Use real butter, beat and beat, parchment paper helps a lot, and a small scoop is the world's BEST kitchen investment... cook magic and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Turned out terrific! An easy recipe that my whole family raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My mom made these every Christmas (she is now 90) and I have now taken over the tradition - however we have never used corn starch - I also dip them in melted chocolate or melted butterscotch chips - yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Omg! This was awesome!! I have never made shortbread before so I was a little worried about gettingit right. i made sure to whip the heck out of the butter as many reviewers said. To do. They turned out wonderful. I wasn't sure if they would be very flavourful so I added white chocolate chips and cranberries, but I wouldn't add them again. This recipe is perfect just the way it is! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States