Mel's Magnificent Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! My cookies always come out cake-like and I have spent years trying to make a cookie with a crispy outside and chewy middle and that's exactly what I was able to do with these cookies. To make the cookies chewier I followed a tip I saw online and I changed the recipe only slightly by using an extra 1/4 cup of both brown sugar and flour. I had to bake a few minutes longer than called for, but I must say they turned out perfect and exactly how I wanted them. Between my family and I, they were all gone by morning. Next time I'll switch to gluten free flour so my mom can enjoy them too. Definitely going to keep this in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is my "go to" recipe for chocolate chip cookies. Everybody asks me to make them and the grandkids want to know if PopPop made any cookies as soon as they come in the front door. I have tried others but for my taste this is the one "baby". Thanks for sharing Mel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
They are DELICIOUS! You are a smart cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Great recipe!! They are soft and soooo tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Pretty good...I am new at the whole baking thing, so this was great...the real test will be when I give them to the Hubby and see his reaction...The kids love them...pretty good recipe! I may add more chocolate or nuts, or another type of baking candy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terea McDaniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I had to double the recipe to make a 24 count but suggest adding a 1/2 cup of white sugar and a 1/2 cup of flour. Also my total bake time was 14 minutes total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandieluck
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made these this afternoon and are a definite winner! The hubby keeps coming down for more and the teens took about 50%... leaving just enough for me and the mailman. Perfect recipe. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandieluck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
For those who prefer a more moist and softer chocolate chip cookie. Not quite enough chocolate for me though, I would suggest increasing the amount of chips to 1 1/2 cups. Another suggestion I would make is to cut the hard butter into small chunks to make it easier to mix with the other ingredients. Watch carefully so you do not overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This cookies have a great flavor, I had a hard time mixing the chilled butter with the other ingredients. Not sure if the butter should actually be soften. I added an extra cup of chocolate chips.I made it into 1 inch balls since the dough was too stiff to drop from spoon. My husband loved the flavor. I will probably make again but I will experiment with the butter and perhaps adding nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States