Mel's Magnificent Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
My chocolate chip cookies are always crispy, and I always wanted to be able to make good, soft, chewy cookies... this recipe worked for me! It made good sized, delicious, soft and chewy cookies. I did need to cook them for a few minutes more than the recipe called for, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
these cookies were great! i added baking powder instead of baking soda so they would come out puffier. they were perfect milk dipping cookies, they absorbed the milk. ***** five stars *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
WOW are these the BEST !!! You can actually make the dough into a tube (like the Pilsbury cookie dough) wrap it in wax paper and freeze them to use later. You can cut off what you want frozen to cook a couple of cookies at a time. Or you can put them in a container and freeze them and just scoop out what you want. These cookies do remain MOIST if covered. THANK YOU so very much for the BEST Chocolate cookie recipe I have ever had. PS.... you can substitute nuts, or raisins, etc. instead of the chocolate chips. Enjoy everyone.... Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Generally when I bake I give all or most of it away...but not this time. This is the perfect example of why I've seldom strayed from what I've learned works best. The cookies were greasy and flat. (And I didn't even grease the cookie sheets) They're flat tasting as well, probably because there's neither enough vanilla nor chocolate chips. Their unappealing looks are the first indicator they're not good since they're flat and rather anemic looking, and the mouth feel is unpleasant, not "soft" but greasy and mushy. Finally, the recipe is just poorly written. I've never heard, for example, of a cookie dough being "whipped."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Cookies came out yummy :) So I used that quantity changer because I thought it really was for "12." I didn't only want a dozen cookies that I could maybe finish in one day with my family so I upped it to 18. I also used the suggestions people had - 1 tablespoon of vanilla and substitute a bit of baking powder for the baking soda. Mine definitely didn't come out flat like everyone elses. Since it didn't come out flat, it didn't expand to be gigantic. I made about 40-48 cookies (I like smaller cookies 3"). I used what the ingredients said if you change the quantity to 18. The things I changed were: 1. 1 tablespoon + a bit more of vanilla extract (the taste came out great), 2. 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder (this caused them to come out very fluffy.. I suggest using maybe 1 1/4 baking soda, 1/4 baking powder so they're not flat), and 3. I used 1 cup and 4.5 tablespoons of butter. all in all, the cookies tasted great. My automatic scaling thing and maybe too much baking powder made them too fluffy. Good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I cut back on the butter a little, by about 50g and they are still chewy & magnificent. Just what I wanted, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
The recipe is pretty good, however not the greatest. It was a little cakey to me and the kids I made them for weren't too happy because they weren't very sweet like most cookies are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is an excellent cookie recipe. I've been looking for something that is not cake-like but still turns out soft in the centre. This is definitely the one! I have 3 recommendations: 1. I recommend adding about half a cup chopped pecans Yum! 2.Use about a heaping teaspoon of dough per cookie rather than a tablespoon, 3. Bake the cookies for about 10-12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
i read all the review and i took the advice to put in baking powder, welll my cookies when kur plots = [ these cookise were bland and it was like the melted in the oven and then they stayed that way! they were soooo thin and bad! i will never make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j_lynn?

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Not good at all. turned out super flat. i ended up having to add 1/4 cup flour to the dough and as soon as i did that they were perfect. so make sure u add an additiona 1/4 cup flour to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States