Mel's Magnificent Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I thought that all chocolate chip cookies were the same before I made this recipe, but I was wrong. These are the absolute best and I will never use another recipe!!!! My cookies were just crispy enough on the outside and so soft on the inside that they melted in my mouth. I got similar responses from my friends and now they all request cookie for birthday presents. To those who said the cookies were too flat, try not over stirring and be sure to put the dough in the fridge for a few hours before baking. I also added a bit more vanilla and a dash of cinnamon, and that might help anyone who feels the recipe is missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Cookies came out yummy :) So I used that quantity changer because I thought it really was for "12." I didn't only want a dozen cookies that I could maybe finish in one day with my family so I upped it to 18. I also used the suggestions people had - 1 tablespoon of vanilla and substitute a bit of baking powder for the baking soda. Mine definitely didn't come out flat like everyone elses. Since it didn't come out flat, it didn't expand to be gigantic. I made about 40-48 cookies (I like smaller cookies 3"). I used what the ingredients said if you change the quantity to 18. The things I changed were: 1. 1 tablespoon + a bit more of vanilla extract (the taste came out great), 2. 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder (this caused them to come out very fluffy.. I suggest using maybe 1 1/4 baking soda, 1/4 baking powder so they're not flat), and 3. I used 1 cup and 4.5 tablespoons of butter. all in all, the cookies tasted great. My automatic scaling thing and maybe too much baking powder made them too fluffy. Good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I took a batch of these with me to my theatre youth group and I didn't have any leftovers. I added more chocolate and mint chips. I also added an extra tsp of vanilla. They were thinner, which made them chewy,,,,yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAMSWEET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rach LeBlanc
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
THE BEST CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES YOU'LL EVER MAKE. I had to put that in caps because I'm SO serious. I didn't have enough butter so I used half butter flavored crisco and half butter. DELICIOUS. ***NOTE: I thought 12 servings meant a dozen cookies. Aparently not, I doubled the recipe and got 70. YES, 70. I used one of those medium pampered chef cookie scoops so they were all measured evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is the recipe I've been searching for! The cookies are perfectly crispy around the edges but chewy in the middle. They are nice and thin, not cakelike--perfect! I might add a tad more salt, but this recipe is now my ONLY recipe for chocolate chip cookies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I didn't have a full cup of butter so i used a half cup of margarine and a half cup of sour cream. i also didn't have the full amount of chips so i used what i had and then eye balled some coconut, raisins and walnuts. as well iused whole wheat flour. they came out great. fluffy almost like cake batter but really nice despite all my subs of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Delicious, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very nice cookies. not at all what i was looking for, but they turned out wonderfull. I bet they'd just taste like subways with white chocolate chips and macademia nuts. They do come out very flat, but the taste is great. Made one batch, it was gone b4 it was cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
These were great... soft on the inside with crispy edges. I made 24 large cookies and doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
they where good chocolate chip cookies but they seemed as though they were missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States