Mel's Eclairs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I found the custard to be way to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These were easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The custard is way too salty. The eclair shells cooked up like crackers. I ended up using the "Eclairs II" recipe on this site and it worked great. Don't bother with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Custard is ok, but my crusts turned out like the other ladie's--crackers! I think the recipe needs salt in it. Batter is runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
If I could give no stars, I would. I remade them 3 TIMES! None turned out right. They always burned and turned to a crumbly mess. I lowered the cook time, amount of ingredients, oven temp. Nothing worked. I do not like this recipe and I would NOT recommend it. It was a waste of time and perfectly good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Rotten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
As others have stated, custard is too salty and the pastry did not puff, they turned out more like a biscotti. I tried making the pastry twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Recipe for the Pate a Choux... Normally 1 c water, 1/2 c butter, 1 c flour, 1/4 tsp salt, and 4 eggs. The 2 tbsp should be 1/2 c water since she is halving it. Technique for making it is correct. As for the custard, 1/4 tsp would be enough salt. IF you correct the pastry, it turns out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanee Van Ee-Mortensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dessert Crepes

Watch how to make these 5-star crepes.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States