Mel's Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This salad is delicious. We made two versions. We tweaked the ‘made recipe as written’ by subbing 1 tbsp Stevia in the Raw for the sugar and used fresh Italian parsley (probably closer to a tablespoon than a teaspoon). The 2nd version took the ‘made recipe as written’ and added about 1/8 teaspoon curry powder and 1/8 heaping teaspoon cayenne pepper powder. We felt the version with curry and cayenne took an already outstanding crab salad to an even higher level. While this was not tried, you might be able to cut the Hellmann’s mayo to 1/4 cup without sacrificing any taste while eliminating some fat. Rather than use crackers, we had this for lunch. We laid 3-4 romaine lettuce leaves on a 10 inch flour tortilla, spooned on the crab salad, and then wrapped them. Makes for a quick and easy lunch!! A really great recipe, Mel . . . and yes, we didn’t make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Excellent flavor, consistency and visual appeal. I'm not very keen on the light Ranch but it adds kind of tangy zip to this. I followed the recipe exactly and it does remind me of the Golden Corral recipe but I know this is low fat. Oh, I also used reduced fat Helmans Mayo, 15 cal a tbls. So it's pretty low fat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My search for the perfect crab salad is over. I've made this several times and the only thing I've changed is cutting back the mayo to 1/4 cup. Definitely a keeper. Filed under my TNT folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I signed up just to review this recipe because this is now my favorite thing to eat! From the start, I substituted Old Bay for the sugar - there's enough sweetness in the crab already - and it worked out great. I use equal amounts of light mayo, fat free sour cream, and light ranch, just enough to coat the crab, not gloopy. I also use a ton more celery and parsley and add some finely chopped green onion. Don't skimp on the fresh parsley!!! When you first taste it, you should think "Wow, I added way too much parsley." If you don't, add more. As it sits overnight, the flavors combine and the parsley really makes the crab flavors pop, and balances out the green onion in a beautiful way. I struggled a bit at first with getting the crab to the right size. I tried chopping it, then tearing it by hand, and finally tried a potato masher, and this makes it so simple! Now, I just dump the crab in the bottom, throw the rest of the ingredients on top, then mash it to break up the crab, while thoroughly combining all the other ingredients. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this twice in 4 days, it was that good! I followed the recipe exact and it was really good. The next time I made a few changes based on other reviews and a few of my own and somehow it was even better! I scaled the mayo back to 1/4 cup (used Hellman's light) and also added about 1/8 cup of light sour cream. I used about 2 tsp of parsley and 3/4 cup celery. I added a couple dashes of cayenne pepper and about 1/8 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese. The sour cream subdued the mayo flavor a bit which I prefer. The cayenne and small amount of cheese gave it a nice little kick. Follow the recipe to a T or make some small tweaks to suit your tastes like I did, either way its delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coulter, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waverly, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was amazing. I added cheese and we ate it as a side dish. My sister and I were fighting over the last bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shandrab

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I used the Stevia, like a previous reviewer suggested, in place of the sugar. And dried parsley as I didn't have fresh. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very simple, yet excellent flavor. I made this as a side dish this evening and even the kids loved the taste and texture. I added a spoonful of chopped dill pickles and I cut down a bit on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was swell-Mel! Simple ingredients and no fuss. I used 2 forks to shred the fish ... I mean crab. Everyone commented how good it was and I just smiled because it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States