Mel's Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My search for the perfect crab salad is over. I've made this several times and the only thing I've changed is cutting back the mayo to 1/4 cup. Definitely a keeper. Filed under my TNT folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
DELICIOUS! I mixed up a half batch of this to make a sandwich filling for the girls for lunch and they absolutely LOVED it! I couldn't quit taking 'tastes' of it and ended up eating the rest w/ pretzels...I can see why your daughter doesn't wanna share, lol. This is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing, Mel! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This salad is delicious. We made two versions. We tweaked the ‘made recipe as written’ by subbing 1 tbsp Stevia in the Raw for the sugar and used fresh Italian parsley (probably closer to a tablespoon than a teaspoon). The 2nd version took the ‘made recipe as written’ and added about 1/8 teaspoon curry powder and 1/8 heaping teaspoon cayenne pepper powder. We felt the version with curry and cayenne took an already outstanding crab salad to an even higher level. While this was not tried, you might be able to cut the Hellmann’s mayo to 1/4 cup without sacrificing any taste while eliminating some fat. Rather than use crackers, we had this for lunch. We laid 3-4 romaine lettuce leaves on a 10 inch flour tortilla, spooned on the crab salad, and then wrapped them. Makes for a quick and easy lunch!! A really great recipe, Mel . . . and yes, we didn’t make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I also chopped up red and green sweet peppers. added a little old bay and honey. spooned it over baked grouper. sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dang burn't it

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Excellent flavor, consistency and visual appeal. I'm not very keen on the light Ranch but it adds kind of tangy zip to this. I followed the recipe exactly and it does remind me of the Golden Corral recipe but I know this is low fat. Oh, I also used reduced fat Helmans Mayo, 15 cal a tbls. So it's pretty low fat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was amazing. I added cheese and we ate it as a side dish. My sister and I were fighting over the last bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shandrab

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very, Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I've made this twice as it stands in a month's time & know it'll be on my Keep Handy List forever. Thank You Mel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this twice in 4 days, it was that good! I followed the recipe exact and it was really good. The next time I made a few changes based on other reviews and a few of my own and somehow it was even better! I scaled the mayo back to 1/4 cup (used Hellman's light) and also added about 1/8 cup of light sour cream. I used about 2 tsp of parsley and 3/4 cup celery. I added a couple dashes of cayenne pepper and about 1/8 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese. The sour cream subdued the mayo flavor a bit which I prefer. The cayenne and small amount of cheese gave it a nice little kick. Follow the recipe to a T or make some small tweaks to suit your tastes like I did, either way its delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coulter, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waverly, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States