Mel's Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was swell-Mel! Simple ingredients and no fuss. I used 2 forks to shred the fish ... I mean crab. Everyone commented how good it was and I just smiled because it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I signed up just to review this recipe because this is now my favorite thing to eat! From the start, I substituted Old Bay for the sugar - there's enough sweetness in the crab already - and it worked out great. I use equal amounts of light mayo, fat free sour cream, and light ranch, just enough to coat the crab, not gloopy. I also use a ton more celery and parsley and add some finely chopped green onion. Don't skimp on the fresh parsley!!! When you first taste it, you should think "Wow, I added way too much parsley." If you don't, add more. As it sits overnight, the flavors combine and the parsley really makes the crab flavors pop, and balances out the green onion in a beautiful way. I struggled a bit at first with getting the crab to the right size. I tried chopping it, then tearing it by hand, and finally tried a potato masher, and this makes it so simple! Now, I just dump the crab in the bottom, throw the rest of the ingredients on top, then mash it to break up the crab, while thoroughly combining all the other ingredients. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I use 8oz. Imit. crab, 2 cups celery chopped, 2/3 mayo, 2/3 ranch, 1 tsp. sugar, 1/8 celery seed. Stir, refrigerate 2 hours. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I found your recipe and just loved it. I live on a boat with my husband and we enjoy our weekends out with friends on the river. Well it is that time of year and I make all kinds of quick salads. My favorite ver. I have is that I love wasabi in my salads and I add it to this recipe and then what makes it great is to serve them on lil hawaian rolls as sandwiches and they are awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Napoliton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
What a great Idea to add salad dressing with mayo! I v tried ceaser dressing its also very good...always a great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Love how easy this is to make! I've been craving crab salad but didn't like the look of the salad offered at the store. This is definitely fresh and better tasting. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Loved it! I love recipes like this that are not complicated, yet taste so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Taste just like the stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very simple, yet excellent flavor. I made this as a side dish this evening and even the kids loved the taste and texture. I added a spoonful of chopped dill pickles and I cut down a bit on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
made this this evening....my only changes some extra parsley and a couple of teaspoons of diced onions....Very Yummy....I will not be waiting 8 hours to indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vergennes, Vermont, USA
Living In: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States