Melody's Corn Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great recipe, and easy to make. Mostly I stuck to the recipe, but as suggested in the Allrecipes magazine, I used 6 slices of bacon. I also used about 24 ounces of corn, instead of 20. I will certainly be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I really liked this! I used a yellow pepper vs. celery because I thought it would blend in with my Mardi Gras theme better!! I didn't use the bacon only because I have vegetarian friends. I know it will be that much better with the bacon though! I also used cajun seasoning vs. creole because I wanted more spice. Thanks Dumplin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Awesome! Made for a work party and this was the only thing that had no leftovers and I made a double batch! I used a good slab bacon with nice smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I doubled this recipe for a potluck dinner. I used 1/2 tsp. Creole seasoning and thick sliced bacon. It is absolutely delicious! Since it calls for freshly chopped parsley, I filled a baggie with my fresh cut parsley and tucked it in my purse to be sprinkled on just before serving. When I opened my purse after the meal, there it was. No harm done. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Recipe Group selection 2/2/12. We liked this so well I made it twice this week. The first time I followed the recipe faithfully and that would have been rated 3.5 - 4 stars, but to be fair I have had this in NOLA at the restaurant Court of Two Sisters in the French Quarter and that was what I was measuring against, but I thought with a few small changes this could be as good. So my changes were to use a Fresno pepper for the red and a Jalapeño for the green and replace the beef broth with chicken. I also omitted the added salt, the bacon had enough for our taste. Then I tossed 8 or 10 shrimp in for the last few minutes of cooking, oh and I used about a full tsp of homemade Creole seasoning. It still wasn't what I remembered but the little extra kick was well received bu my family. Thanks, Melodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 02, February 2013 ~ We enjoyed this side dish very much. I didn’t have Creole seasoning, so I made up “Creole Seasoning Blend” from AR to use in this dish. I had fresh corn that we froze during the summer so I used that instead of store-bought frozen corn. We loved everything about this dish, from the sautéed vegetables to the seasoning to the taste of the corn itself. I served this with hot ham and cheese sandwiches and a salad. I knew that there would be leftovers, so I added the bacon right before serving so it wouldn’t get soggy. Thanks Melody for sharing your recipe, it is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this recipe for the weekly recipe group selection. I've never had this dish before so can't really compare it to others. We enjoyed it, my son really loved it. I didn't simmer the veggies as long, we like a bit of crisp to them. Served up with some grilled Cajun Chicken from this site, a great pair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Thanks for trying my recipe and I'm glad you all liked it so much! The only difference between this and Succotash is the addition of green lima beans. Also, I noticed that some of the changes they made to my wording when the edited my recipe made it more difficult to understand. The Thyme is optional and the Thyme and Parsley should be finely chopped, not minced. Also, to cook and stir is to saute. I've used sweet corn or shoepeg corn for this recipe and it's wonderful either way. You can also substitute chicken broth for the beef broth and add a little sage, or substitute seafood broth and add schrimp for some different flavors. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody aka Dumplin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...We really liked this a lot! I omitted the thyme, b/c I didn't have any and we are not big fans of it, but followed it otherwise. This was a nice change and will be a repeat side dish in my house~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe to a "T" and while I liked it, the remaining family members were not as impressed. It reminded me of a "succotash" dish that my mom used to serve when I was a kid. The bacon and thyme were a nice addition, IMO. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Melody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States