Melitzanes Imam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It's really good but make sure to cube your eggplant into small pieces so that it doesn't take forever to cook like mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great receipe. I was hesitant to try it just because the combination of ingredients seemed odd to me. I was not expecting it to be tasty at all. Much to my delight, it was wonderful. I did not salt the eggplant as others did. I didn't find it bitter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Good, could use more flavor, not sure what is missing. My can of diced tomatoes had basil, oregano and garlic in it. I didn't add 1 TBL of tomato paste. Next time I will try the suggestions of red peper flakes, nutmeg and serve with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I did some of the suggestions...pinch of nutmeg, red pepper flakes to taste. Will peel off the skin and cook without it in the future...just to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Golden Currant
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Amazing recipe! I didn't have any tomatoes, so I tripled the amount of tomato paste and threw in some mushrooms and red peppers to make it a little more stuffed. After scooping out the eggplant halves and baking them twice, the "1 cm" of actual eggplant "meat" had completely dissolved. It burnt a bit around the edges, but it was nonetheless delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good dish. I didn't bother with the roasting of the skin, but just peeled it and did everything in the skillet. I served it over basmati rice and it was filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
We were disappointed by this recipe. The unusual spices made me expect unusual flavors, but it was on the bland side. Could be the cook, certainly, but we weren't impressed enough to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Surprisingly tasty, given how simple the ingredients were. Love this because I had all the ingredients in the pantry except the eggplant. Very easy and satisfying with couscous, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was a very surprising dish. I thought it was going to be plain, but the cinnamon really added to the flavor. I changed the recipe a bit and cooked tofu with the onions and garlic in the beginning. I also salted the eggplant and let it drain in a strainer about an hour before I cooked it. That helped with the bitterness. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Perhaps I did something wrong? Maybe too much cinnamon? In any case, it tasted fine before the cinnamon, then, although it looked great, it was extremely (and I do mean extremely!) bitter. I might try making it again, but I think I'd add garam masala & leave out the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States