Melissa's Turkey Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was very good, but I made changes the second time around. I omitted the celery (which I hate), but added grated carrot & zucchini (about 1/4 c. each). Omitted the basil & used poultry seasoning instead. Used ketchup instead of the tomato soup, which I felt made the meatloaf too moist. These changes may not suit everyone, but friends & family loved it, even those that thought the turkey might be too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a great turkey meatloaf. I made it last week and again this week...and I usually don't repeat recipes that quick. My family loved it. I did substitute ketchup for the tomato soup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Neiding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe fairly closely and I found it to be ok at best. I did read through prior reviews and took some advice. First and foremost, too much garlic! I might use a garlic press in the future and cut back to 2 small cloves or 1 big clove. Time was a factor and I didn't not saute the celery and onions and that was a big mistake unless you like a crunch to your meatloaf. I did reduce celery to one stalk and it was still a lot. I used ketchup instead of soup which was fine. I threw in splash of milk for moisture, though not the 1/4 cup. I added 30 minutes to the cook time based on a meat thermometer reading and the consistency of the meat was perfect. I think it's a good base recipe worth tinkering with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New England Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made the recipe as indicated and it was quite good. Later I varied it: instead of tomato soup, I used cream of celery, and added some sage, rosemary, thyme, and a bit of high-quality chicken bouillon, and I think it was even better: moreover, it actually tasted like turkey-- which is nice for a change (instead of trying to get the turkey to taste like beef). I suppose cream of chicken would do well also, as well as using ground chicken in addition to, or in place of, the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
It needs a little more pep in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was very good. Changes: I didn't use milk; sauteed the vegetables and seasoned them with some all purpose seasoning; and used ketchup on top. This is one I'll make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I loved this! Of course, I had to make a few changes based on what was in my pantry. I added one finely grated carrot, used dry Italian herbs, garlic powder instead of fresh, grated onion instead of minced, plain panko crumbs, a little mayo (out of eggs) instead of eggs, and ketchup instead of soup. But it's still the same basic idea and it had a great flavor! Served with baked potato and green beans. Great recipe! We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
this meatloaf is soooo yummy!!! i make it all the time! I add a few different things in like Worcestershire sauce to the tomato soup but other than that its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
So quick and delicious! I didn't have soup and so used spaghetti sauce instead. I had only 1.2 lbs of turkey and used a 9x9" pan instead of 9x15". I put some shredded mozzarella on top towards the end of the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Made with substitutions...Added 1 chopped red bell pepper, no onion, ised two tablesppons minced garlic (instead of 3 garlic cloves), no milk and one small can tomato paste smeared on instead of canned soup (too much sugar!). Served with ketchup on the side. It was moist enough without the milk...also, it is important that it be covered tightly while cooking, otherwise it doesn't cook as quickly because it is not in a loaf pan. Turned out delicious! I can hardly tell it is turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups

These adorably delicious mini-meatloaves are made in cupcake tins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States