Melissa's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
So good! With just a couple extra ingredients beyond what I usually have. I used green pepper instead of mushroom and didn't add the wine. Turned out great! Would love this with the sausage suggested by another reviewer. Leftovers tomorrow too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband and myself last night. It was merely excellent. Other than adding extra mushrooms I followed the recipe exactly. I will certainly make this again. It is an excellent comfort food with good mouth feel and interesting flavor notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Awesome dish - lots of possibilities for changing it up when making it in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe - added in a tablespoon of capers too. Served with fresh pasta...delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this with the tomatoes with chili's and it was amazing. Gave the perfect kick. I did use Parmesan Cheese also. Very good, family loved it. I will definately do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The flavours are great although I feel like it needs some kick in terms of red pepper flakes or sprinkling of cayenne pepper - that is, if you are a spicy food fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was absolutely AMAZING!! I did substitute thyme for rosemary...my personal preference. I did not add in the mushrooms or olives. Other than that, I made the recipe as stated. It was phenomenal and I will make it again in a heartbeat. My boyfriend suggested using the leftovers as a pizza topping and it was so tasty!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I really loved this recipe. I didn't remove the sauce from a pan and put in a 9x13; I really didn't see the point of dirtying a lot of large dishes, so instead when I removed the chicken, I just put it in a bowl, then put it back in with the rest and popped the whole pan of sauce into the oven (I used an oven safe skillet that I use for Shephard's pie). I had limited time when I made this, and had to walk away, so I didn't end up putting any wine or cheese on this dish, but I can't say I noticed the lack at all. I did add more olives than called for ( a whole can) and left them whole, as hubs does not care for olives. I don't care for mushrooms, though, so I also left them whole; he had my mushrooms and I had my olives, so it worked perfectly. I will probably make this again, and perhaps will remember the wine and cheese this time. I served over spaghetti. This makes a lot of food, but the leftovers are just as good, I don't mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
We LOVED this, but I did make a few changes! In addition to the chicken, I also added in some sweet Italian sausages, cut into chunks, that I boiled for a bit and then cooked in the pan w/ the chicken to brown. I didn't use the amount of oregano/basil that was called for b/c I didn't want a strong herb-y flavor, so I just used some Italian seasoning, to taste. Also, didn't have the wine that was called for, so I just used a nice splash of white wine and that worked for us. Totally forgot the mozz. cheese, but will add it next time (not that it even needed it). Everyone really enjoyed the flavors of this, and I it was so easy to make! This is a keeper for my family~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is a nice simple prep dish for a weeknight family meal. I prepared in the morning, covered with foil, and then just poppped in the oven at dinner time. I found it a bit on the bland side even with some doctoring. I added orange and green pepper stips to the mix, a very pretty presentation. I also marinated my chicken in italian dressing for even more flavor, and used some extra spices. Depite these efforts, this just didn't knock me out. The wine was lost, perhaps more in the sauce? Maybe some red pepper flakes, too. And I might add some chunks of hot italian sausage mixed with the chicken pieces. Hubs said this was "not up to my standard", OUCH! But I sincerely thank you for sharing this recipe, I think it was just the wrong dish for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States