Melissa's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Actually didn't realize the time frame for cooking. Put it in the crock pot on low for 2 hrs until we returned home and the juice soaked right into the chicken making it an awesome dish! Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Loved the base combination. Using a rotisserie chicken, I skipped to step three as I loved the idea of using the tasty marinade from the artichoke hearts to saute down the vegetables of choice. I added a home grown diced habanero and a dash of cumin and tumeric as we love those flavors in a tomato based sauce. Also added the zest and juice of a lemon and a chopped green pepper and capers ( almost a puttanesca sauce) and never bothered with the baking step since the chix was cooked and we omitted the cheese. After the tomatoes were added, I let it cook for an hour to take the raw out of them and allow the whole mix to marry in flavor and then added the cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dively

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
So good! With just a couple extra ingredients beyond what I usually have. I used green pepper instead of mushroom and didn't add the wine. Turned out great! Would love this with the sausage suggested by another reviewer. Leftovers tomorrow too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband and myself last night. It was merely excellent. Other than adding extra mushrooms I followed the recipe exactly. I will certainly make this again. It is an excellent comfort food with good mouth feel and interesting flavor notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Awesome dish - lots of possibilities for changing it up when making it in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe - added in a tablespoon of capers too. Served with fresh pasta...delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this with the tomatoes with chili's and it was amazing. Gave the perfect kick. I did use Parmesan Cheese also. Very good, family loved it. I will definately do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The flavours are great although I feel like it needs some kick in terms of red pepper flakes or sprinkling of cayenne pepper - that is, if you are a spicy food fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was absolutely AMAZING!! I did substitute thyme for rosemary...my personal preference. I did not add in the mushrooms or olives. Other than that, I made the recipe as stated. It was phenomenal and I will make it again in a heartbeat. My boyfriend suggested using the leftovers as a pizza topping and it was so tasty!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I really loved this recipe. I didn't remove the sauce from a pan and put in a 9x13; I really didn't see the point of dirtying a lot of large dishes, so instead when I removed the chicken, I just put it in a bowl, then put it back in with the rest and popped the whole pan of sauce into the oven (I used an oven safe skillet that I use for Shephard's pie). I had limited time when I made this, and had to walk away, so I didn't end up putting any wine or cheese on this dish, but I can't say I noticed the lack at all. I did add more olives than called for ( a whole can) and left them whole, as hubs does not care for olives. I don't care for mushrooms, though, so I also left them whole; he had my mushrooms and I had my olives, so it worked perfectly. I will probably make this again, and perhaps will remember the wine and cheese this time. I served over spaghetti. This makes a lot of food, but the leftovers are just as good, I don't mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States