Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I make it as is & my family eats it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I tripled the recipe and added fresh basil to the sauce... it is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
MADE AS DIRECTED BY THE RECIPE. We liked them but it wasn't out of this world good. My changes for the future would be maybe a little more rice, a little more garlic (real, not powdered), a little more pepper. As for the sauce, I think using 80/20 beef allowed more flavor to transfer to the sauce. I'd probably use a little less water too. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe was okay. Just okay. The sauce is very unflavorful, as well as the meatballs. I like bland foods, and this was too plain for me. I added a lot of other spices to the sauce just to make it taste like something other than watery tomato sauce (which is what it is in this recipe). The meatballs were fine. We wrapped ours in cabbage leaves and baked them, and the meatballs themselves came out fully cooked and they tasted fine, but completely non-exciting. Won't bother making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I really enjoyed the Porcupine Meatballs, I do however have that feeling it's missing something as far as seasonings. But they are still very yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The whole family loves these, I make them with fire roasted tomatoes instead of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! I often add an extra 8 oz. can of tomato sauce (and adjust the seasonings to match) to give it that extra sauce that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The recipe I remember growing up, had used tomato soup. My family isn't a big fan of tomato-based sauces except on spaghetti or pizza. I took inspiration from suchaprincess' review to make it more beefy, and used 1 can of tomato soup, 1 packet of mushroom gravy mix, 3/4 soup can of water, a dash of worcestershire sauce, and two beef bouillon cubes, as the gravy. I also used Minute Rice, and cut the water in the meat mixture to 1/4 cup. I omitted the celery salt and added a dash of worcestershire sauce instead, and added one beaten egg. It's in the oven right now, and smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
very very good. I had never had porcupine meatballs before. I left out the tomato sauce and made a brown-gravy version only because my son refuses to eat anything with tomato sauce. The whole pan was gone in a matter of minutes. I only had medium grain rice, and was concerned that it might not cook all the way through, so I parcooked it in boiling water for about 4 minutes before adding it to the meat mixture (cooled)...it came out perfect! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good. My sauce needed a bit more seasoning, so I will adjust for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leif Borreson

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States