Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I love this recipe my whole family loves it too!!! I suggest serving with mashed potatoes and ketchup on the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Really good just as written. I double it just to make sure we have leftovers! I don't understand some reviewers: They turn it into a completely different dish (tomato sauce changed into brown gravy?!) and then criticize the original! Oh well...whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I didn't add the water to the meatballs. Instead I added one egg and 2 heaping tbsp of horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I haven't had porcupine meatballs in years and decided to try this recipe. I have tried another recipe using tomato soup, but not very good. This recipe is excellent! I made them in a skillet on the stove. They tasted great and are the way I remember them tasting when my mom made them. Thank you Melinda! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
You must use egg or the meatballs will fall apart. The celery salt is too much, next I will reduce by half. I used instant rice. This recipe is a great starter but I needs a few changes to be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmmisty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I make it as is & my family eats it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I tripled the recipe and added fresh basil to the sauce... it is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
MADE AS DIRECTED BY THE RECIPE. We liked them but it wasn't out of this world good. My changes for the future would be maybe a little more rice, a little more garlic (real, not powdered), a little more pepper. As for the sauce, I think using 80/20 beef allowed more flavor to transfer to the sauce. I'd probably use a little less water too. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe was okay. Just okay. The sauce is very unflavorful, as well as the meatballs. I like bland foods, and this was too plain for me. I added a lot of other spices to the sauce just to make it taste like something other than watery tomato sauce (which is what it is in this recipe). The meatballs were fine. We wrapped ours in cabbage leaves and baked them, and the meatballs themselves came out fully cooked and they tasted fine, but completely non-exciting. Won't bother making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I really enjoyed the Porcupine Meatballs, I do however have that feeling it's missing something as far as seasonings. But they are still very yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States