Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Easy to make & taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
i dont know what went wrong. i followed the directions except used tomato soup but the rice was still hard. the sauce was very watery. i ended up putting them in the crock pot to cook longer. guess we will go out for a hamburger for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This exact recipe was in a cookbook my mother gave me when I moved out on my own, and I've been making it for nearly 30 years (sans the celery salt, which I'm not fond of). It has always been a family favorite. My husband adores stuffed cabbage, but I'm a lazy cook and hate the work involved. Solution---I cook a layer of chunks or small wedges of cabbage on top of the meatballs (I've even used a bag of shredded cabbage for cole slaw in a pinch). We call it "Unstuffed Cabbage". :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
You know, this is just the best recipe ever for porcupine meatballs, and it is so easy and simple. Porcupine meatballs were a favorite of mine growing up in Iowa. I cooked them for years for my own children. But, I never really had Mom's recipe, and with old age things fade. So, I went to Allrecipes, and was so happy I did! The first time I made them, I ate all 12 by myself, 4 for dinner, 2 for breakfast, 3 for lunch and, 3 for dinner. I didn't intend to alter the recipe, but used home canned tomato juice, because I didn't have sauce and it is 70 miles round trip to a grocery store, added a pinch of sugar and Italian spices. Otherwise, I wouldn't mess with this recipe one bit! Pure perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I was babysitting my "Pasta Pickups" - - only - - 3 year old. I remembered that his daddy loved this when he was that age. His parents are in the middle of moving into a new home so all we had was the rice, beef and tomato sauce. He LOVED it! He ate four!!!! WOW! Thank you for this recipe! You should post this to a parents of toddlers page!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
YUMMY! I even left out onion and celery salt because I didn't have them .. going to try it with and I'm sure they will be even more delicious!! Make sure to cover when cooking in the oven or the rice won't cook ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Just wasn't that Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blackwell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I love this recipe my whole family loves it too!!! I suggest serving with mashed potatoes and ketchup on the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Really good just as written. I double it just to make sure we have leftovers! I don't understand some reviewers: They turn it into a completely different dish (tomato sauce changed into brown gravy?!) and then criticize the original! Oh well...whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I didn't add the water to the meatballs. Instead I added one egg and 2 heaping tbsp of horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States