Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I really enjoyed the Porcupine Meatballs, I do however have that feeling it's missing something as far as seasonings. But they are still very yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The whole family loves these, I make them with fire roasted tomatoes instead of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! I often add an extra 8 oz. can of tomato sauce (and adjust the seasonings to match) to give it that extra sauce that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The recipe I remember growing up, had used tomato soup. My family isn't a big fan of tomato-based sauces except on spaghetti or pizza. I took inspiration from suchaprincess' review to make it more beefy, and used 1 can of tomato soup, 1 packet of mushroom gravy mix, 3/4 soup can of water, a dash of worcestershire sauce, and two beef bouillon cubes, as the gravy. I also used Minute Rice, and cut the water in the meat mixture to 1/4 cup. I omitted the celery salt and added a dash of worcestershire sauce instead, and added one beaten egg. It's in the oven right now, and smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
very very good. I had never had porcupine meatballs before. I left out the tomato sauce and made a brown-gravy version only because my son refuses to eat anything with tomato sauce. The whole pan was gone in a matter of minutes. I only had medium grain rice, and was concerned that it might not cook all the way through, so I parcooked it in boiling water for about 4 minutes before adding it to the meat mixture (cooled)...it came out perfect! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good. My sauce needed a bit more seasoning, so I will adjust for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe was pretty good, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I had to cook it an extra 1/2 hour to have the regular rice be cooked. I did make a couple changes, I used tomato soup in place of half of the tomato sauce, I also added, about 3 tbs of Hickory BBQ sauce and some liquid smoke to the sauce, the rest of the ingredients were the same. I did double the recipe. Also when doing the oven method as I did I suggest broiling on high so the tops of the meatballs get browned before adding the sauce. Overall though it came out very well ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good recipe. I tweeked it by sautéing the onions before adding to the gb and I added 1 Tablespoon vinegar to the sauce to brighten it. I used the oven method and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
We baked them in the oven and used a mixture of dried onion soup and a can of mushroom soup in place of tomato sauce. We also sauteed onions, carrots, and celery before adding to hamburger. Added sauteed mushrooms before serving over mashed potatoes. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I've been making this recipe since I was a kid! (many years) I've tweaked it over the years with more seasonings, a bit of hot sauce, etc. but this is the basic recipe I have been using. It's always popular with my family even though it is very basic home cooking. I don't always brown the meatballs first if I don't have time, if you get the sauce boiling in the pan, you can just drop the balls in gently and they will hold together. Or, you can brown them in the oven as others have done to cut back on time. I love the nostalgia of this dish. Sometimes we serve them with baked potatoes, or spaghetti squash or on toasted french sandwich rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States