Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I was babysitting my "Pasta Pickups" - - only - - 3 year old. I remembered that his daddy loved this when he was that age. His parents are in the middle of moving into a new home so all we had was the rice, beef and tomato sauce. He LOVED it! He ate four!!!! WOW! Thank you for this recipe! You should post this to a parents of toddlers page!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
YUMMY! I even left out onion and celery salt because I didn't have them .. going to try it with and I'm sure they will be even more delicious!! Make sure to cover when cooking in the oven or the rice won't cook ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Just wasn't that Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blackwell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I love this recipe my whole family loves it too!!! I suggest serving with mashed potatoes and ketchup on the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Really good just as written. I double it just to make sure we have leftovers! I don't understand some reviewers: They turn it into a completely different dish (tomato sauce changed into brown gravy?!) and then criticize the original! Oh well...whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I didn't add the water to the meatballs. Instead I added one egg and 2 heaping tbsp of horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I haven't had porcupine meatballs in years and decided to try this recipe. I have tried another recipe using tomato soup, but not very good. This recipe is excellent! I made them in a skillet on the stove. They tasted great and are the way I remember them tasting when my mom made them. Thank you Melinda! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coopersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
You must use egg or the meatballs will fall apart. The celery salt is too much, next I will reduce by half. I used instant rice. This recipe is a great starter but I needs a few changes to be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjmmisty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I make it as is & my family eats it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I tripled the recipe and added fresh basil to the sauce... it is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States