Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
These were ok, but i am going to experiment with other recipes. Also, dont forget what one of the steps says---- keep adding water to the sauce if it seems dry. i barely had any sauce :( but as for the meatball itself, it tasted a little plain. also, it was hard to keep together. maybe ill add egg next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Did not care for it at all. Very watery and is it minute rice or regular rice?You need to clarify that because apparently it does make a difference. No flavor except tomato. I wasted my money and time cooking this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This recipe is not bad as it is but it has too much water added to the meat. It makes it hard to form the meatballs and is unnecessary and it is too bland without some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Easy to make & taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
i dont know what went wrong. i followed the directions except used tomato soup but the rice was still hard. the sauce was very watery. i ended up putting them in the crock pot to cook longer. guess we will go out for a hamburger for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This exact recipe was in a cookbook my mother gave me when I moved out on my own, and I've been making it for nearly 30 years (sans the celery salt, which I'm not fond of). It has always been a family favorite. My husband adores stuffed cabbage, but I'm a lazy cook and hate the work involved. Solution---I cook a layer of chunks or small wedges of cabbage on top of the meatballs (I've even used a bag of shredded cabbage for cole slaw in a pinch). We call it "Unstuffed Cabbage". :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
You know, this is just the best recipe ever for porcupine meatballs, and it is so easy and simple. Porcupine meatballs were a favorite of mine growing up in Iowa. I cooked them for years for my own children. But, I never really had Mom's recipe, and with old age things fade. So, I went to Allrecipes, and was so happy I did! The first time I made them, I ate all 12 by myself, 4 for dinner, 2 for breakfast, 3 for lunch and, 3 for dinner. I didn't intend to alter the recipe, but used home canned tomato juice, because I didn't have sauce and it is 70 miles round trip to a grocery store, added a pinch of sugar and Italian spices. Otherwise, I wouldn't mess with this recipe one bit! Pure perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I was babysitting my "Pasta Pickups" - - only - - 3 year old. I remembered that his daddy loved this when he was that age. His parents are in the middle of moving into a new home so all we had was the rice, beef and tomato sauce. He LOVED it! He ate four!!!! WOW! Thank you for this recipe! You should post this to a parents of toddlers page!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
YUMMY! I even left out onion and celery salt because I didn't have them .. going to try it with and I'm sure they will be even more delicious!! Make sure to cover when cooking in the oven or the rice won't cook ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States