Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
These were ok. The sauce was way too thin. With some tweaking, this might be a 4-5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schuster Altmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Both DH & I loved these porcupines. I used brown rice & boiled it for 10 minutes, then drained & cooled before mixing with meat. I substituted an egg for the water. I added diced onion, peppers & celery & garlic, but wish I would have stuck with those being powdered, because as I browned the meatballs some didn't stick together. I'm guessing that happened because the veggies released water as they cooked. I was inspired by DeAnna to use some Bloody Mary Mix that was left-over. After browning the meatballs, I poured the Mix in to not quite cover them. Added some Worchestershire & horseradish. Simmered 45 minutes. Very pleased with how they turned out, but no fresh veggies the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I double the recipe, substitute 1/2 pound country sausage for some of the burger, and bake it at 325 for 30 min, flip them over, cover with sauce and bake another 30 min. I also use some delicious Amy's organic tomato soup and the Campbell's tomato soup. We love the leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Iona, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Definitely use instant rice or precooked. Even after an extra 45 min in the oven, every other bite still had crunchy rice. I didn't use any salt, and I added cheese cubes in the center of the meatballs. I was also going to add finely chopped spinach, but I forgot. I put these on french baguette style bread for meatball subs. I liked it, and I may try again sometime in the future. Not bad for a quick meal, but wasn't a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I added an extra can of tomato sauce and another cup of water because my husband likes a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette Truelock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
These were ok, but i am going to experiment with other recipes. Also, dont forget what one of the steps says---- keep adding water to the sauce if it seems dry. i barely had any sauce :( but as for the meatball itself, it tasted a little plain. also, it was hard to keep together. maybe ill add egg next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Did not care for it at all. No flavor except tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This recipe is not bad as it is but it has too much water added to the meat. It makes it hard to form the meatballs and is unnecessary and it is too bland without some seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Easy to make & taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States