Melanie's Garden-Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This was a wonderful tomatoe soup recipe. I did'nt blend the second batch to have some "chunky" pieces in the soup.I also added 1/2 cup sherry to replace the 1/2 cup water in the amounts of water asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Wonderful fresh taste, very flexible recipe. I used vegetable broth instead of water to add a bit more richness. Great for add-ins: garbanzo beans, cooked rice, cooked pasta, thinly sliced quartered zucchini or yellow squash. I use an immersion blender to puree and then strain it to remove the seeds. When tomatoes are plentiful in the garden, I make up huge batches and freeze in dinner-sized containers, for quick and versatile meals. Mmmmmmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Really good and simple. My child was sick and wanted tomato soup and I was out. I also did not have any tomatoes so this is what I did. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with oregano, garlic and basil. I did not have a tomatoe paste so I boiled my beef bouillon cube in the water and add 2 tbsp of flour after the bouillon water was cooled. I also added more sugar than what was called for. It smelled great and tasted great. My children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Very good basic recipe. Added more basil and clams to make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
LOVE this soup! Quick and easy, really fresh taste. I give out very few 5 star ratings, and this one deserves every star. When my garden yields more fruit than I know what to do with, I plan to make a huge batch of this soup and can it for summer fresh taste in the middle of winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Pretty good, I agree that it needed more sugar. Came out like a generic spaghetti sauce. Easy if you're craving tomato soup. Thanks CLM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Nice and easy - some wine or veggie stock would make a nice substitute for the water. I might puree half, just because the texture is nice. If you are feeling the lack of sugar, just be aware that tomatoes differ in acidity and canned tomatoes often have things in to try to keep the 'brightness' of the tomatoes over time. Taste the soup early so you can adjust the sugar. Broth or wine will help this a lot (wine is acidic too, but it chemically interacts with tomatoes to release a whole set of flavours that just sit there and do nothing. Another trick with this - and all tomato sauces is to add the paste in at the beginnign and let it do the Maillard thing..essentially caramelizing a bit, just let it darken. then the tomatoes for a minute (stir, the paste and garlic would burn otherwise) and then the water and such. You probably won't need any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This was very simple and easy to make ... a great use of end of summer's garden fresh tomatoes and herbs! I thought the soup needed a bit more sugar than the recipe called for but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This just wasn't very good to us and we love tomato soup. We ended up trying to cream it up with some cream, then it was so strong on the tomato bite that we had to sugar it up to 4 1/2 tsp and more salt. We just didn't find it very satisfying at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States