Melanie's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
HURRAY! I've never made chili before and this recipe is SUPERB! I left out the cumin (personal preference), doubled the recipe and used half dark kidney beans, half pinto beans, 1 can regular diced tomatoes, and 1 can diced tomatoes with green chiles. YUM YUM YUM! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Great chili recipe, but kind of bland flavor. I cooked all the spices with beef and onion to maximize the flavor. Mild chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Quick, easy, basic chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Yum! Quick, easy, classic chili. Next time I'll make a double batch for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
We as a family really like this- it is mild, which is good. And easy, & you usually have these ingredients around. I halved the cayenne which is standard, but maybe I didn't need to. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Very simple and VERY good! I made this once and my boyfriend & I were hooked. Since then, I've amended the recipe a bit and now used 1/2 can of pinto beans & 1/2 can of kidney beans. I also like to add chopped green pepper to give it a little color! Thanks for a great chili recipe Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I decided to use this recipe because I wanted a basic chili without unusual ingredients. I used kidney beans and it turned out great. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Very easy to make and delicious.....the cumin was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Very good, simple chili with just basic ingredients. Our family of five devoured it and needed more. I recommend doubling it as she suggests, but use all kidney beans... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I made this recipe with the Homesteader Cornbread recipe from this site. It was VERY good. I doubled the recipe as suggested, and was surprised at how spicy it was. Next time I'll cut back on the spices a bit so the kids can enjoy it, too! Thanks for a great, and very easy, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States