Melanie's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
really really good- i did add corn and green pepper and used less of the tomatos and onion for my taste. But overall its great. And my 2 year old ate 2 bowls! which right there is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Nice! Added a chilli which made it a bit too spicy but very good and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
So very easy and tasty. I ended up adding more of all of the spices. It was a *tad* bit on the tomato side, even with 1.4 lbs. of meat. Topped with green onions and shredded cheese. Oh, and I threw in half a can of diced green chiles that I needed to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This chili is good! Thank you, Melanie! My family loved it. I followed the recipe pretty much as is, except I used kidney beans instead of pintos (I didn't have pintos on hand). I served it with sprinkled cheddar cheese on top and a side of cornbread. This is especially good on a cold winter night. Mmmm... good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Thanks for the great reviews! I actually tweek this recipe everytime I make it, and look for suggestions from others. Just to correct one basic thing, I do cook the garlic with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe served as a very handy framework when I had to come up with lunch using the ingredients my boyfriend had in his pantry. I still had to make a few substitutions, and I used chopped up veggie burgers instead of actual meat, but I came up with a very nice chili. I will continue to use this recipe as a guideline, but probably still tinker with it, 'cause that's just what I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Guess it's just me. I didn't care for this recipe, I've had better. Maybe it's cause I used ground turkey instead (I don't care to buy ground beef). Although it's never been a factor on some of the other chili recipes I tried on here and really liked. But all the other reviews are good, so don't listen to me! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is a great recipe. I was looking for a chili recipe without any exotic ingredients and this is it. I doubled the chili powder and added more garlic. For the diced tomatoes, I got the ones with chilis in them. I also omitted the tomato sauce and instead added about three cans of tomato juice. I think it would have been too think with tomato sauce. Oh yeah, it doesn't say, but make sure you drain your beef after you brown it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thiensville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
We tried this chili tonight, and it was wonderful! We made it exactly as the recipe says. It's the perfect classic chili. My husband says it's the best he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States