Melanie's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
this is one of the best and easiest chili's my husband & I have ever had the pleasure of making...had a little more meat for him & a little more spice for me ....we have made it twice in 10 days...thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I started with this basic recipe, but since I don't much care for tomatoes I halved the diced tomatoes, and doubled everything else, with both pinto and kidney beans as suggested. It came out pefectly for me! I liked the good flavor, but limited number of ingredients, because some of the chili recipes I found were way too complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
It wasn't flavorful enough- felt more like a tomato sauce than a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
really really good- i did add corn and green pepper and used less of the tomatos and onion for my taste. But overall its great. And my 2 year old ate 2 bowls! which right there is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Nice! Added a chilli which made it a bit too spicy but very good and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
So very easy and tasty. I ended up adding more of all of the spices. It was a *tad* bit on the tomato side, even with 1.4 lbs. of meat. Topped with green onions and shredded cheese. Oh, and I threw in half a can of diced green chiles that I needed to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This chili is good! Thank you, Melanie! My family loved it. I followed the recipe pretty much as is, except I used kidney beans instead of pintos (I didn't have pintos on hand). I served it with sprinkled cheddar cheese on top and a side of cornbread. This is especially good on a cold winter night. Mmmm... good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Thanks for the great reviews! I actually tweek this recipe everytime I make it, and look for suggestions from others. Just to correct one basic thing, I do cook the garlic with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe served as a very handy framework when I had to come up with lunch using the ingredients my boyfriend had in his pantry. I still had to make a few substitutions, and I used chopped up veggie burgers instead of actual meat, but I came up with a very nice chili. I will continue to use this recipe as a guideline, but probably still tinker with it, 'cause that's just what I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Guess it's just me. I didn't care for this recipe, I've had better. Maybe it's cause I used ground turkey instead (I don't care to buy ground beef). Although it's never been a factor on some of the other chili recipes I tried on here and really liked. But all the other reviews are good, so don't listen to me! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States