Melanie's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was delicious. I cooked my own pinto beans and added a little more seasonings than called for. I didn't have any cayenne pepper so added a couple drops of hot sauce. I normally cheat and use packaged seasoning but proably won't again. This is much better for me, too - no additives or preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was really good. Even my chili hating husband liked it. I doubled the recipe. Due to other reviewers saying that there was a strong tomato flavor, I didn't double the tomato sauce. Also, next time I will drain one of the cans of tomatoes. There was just a little too much liquid for me. I also added more than double of the chili powder and cumin. We only added about 1/4 t. cayenne since my husband and one of my little ones don't like anything spicy. We will probably tweak this a little but it will definitely be a keeper at our house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zmo
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I was looking for a good chili-bean recipe for PINTO beans. Instead of using canned beans, I made my own homemade beans, which I haven't done in a very long time. The next day, I put together this recipe and it was really good. Everyone loved it. After making this recipe again a second time, the beans turned out even more delicious than the first time:-) This is definitly a keeper! Thanks Melanie:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very easy & tasty! I made a double batch-i used 1 can of tomatoes w/diced chili's and i can regular diced tomatoes plus the tomato sauce as directed. also threw in a handful of diced green pepper for color & used kidney beans. I will never used the packaged mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I love this recipe! I have been making this one for years now. I picked it because it didnt have a long list of weird ingredients. Most of the time I follow the recipe exactly as written and I always make a double batch. Every now and then I will add extra chili powder. This is a wonderful, homemade, simple, and delicious chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Great recipe! I've made this many times now adding some of my own spices and letting it cook in the crock pot all day. I switched to using ground turkey and it is super yummy and healthy. I also add black beans along with chili beans, onion and green pepper. I serve it with low fat sour cream, tortilla chips and cheese. I really like the spices for this recipes. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very tasty and easy! Will double next time....A Couple questions - Should the beans be drained first? I did, but wasn't sure. Also - could not find cayenne pepper at my grocery store so just used some red pepper flakes to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Just what I was looking for; simple and delicious! Didn't change a thing. LOVE it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
this is one of the best and easiest chili's my husband & I have ever had the pleasure of making...had a little more meat for him & a little more spice for me ....we have made it twice in 10 days...thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I started with this basic recipe, but since I don't much care for tomatoes I halved the diced tomatoes, and doubled everything else, with both pinto and kidney beans as suggested. It came out pefectly for me! I liked the good flavor, but limited number of ingredients, because some of the chili recipes I found were way too complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States