Melanie's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I loved it. I did do a little tweak to it and added a can of kidney beans, a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles (Rotel) and some extra garlic powder. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Now this is good stuff. I've made a lot of chili in my time and this one made my husband rave. I thought it was a good basic no frills recipe and stands on it's own well enough. I only had a half of a Texas sweet onion. 8 oz. of mexican tomato sauce, a small can of tomato paste to which I added 1 can of beef consomme, Ranch Style beans, chipotle diced tomatoes. The next time I fix this I will add a 1/2 tsp of oregano, cocoa powder, 1 T of vinegar, 1 T sugar, and doubling the chili powder. This was a great starting point though and with a few tweaks will be my own (and Melanie's) 5 star chili. I let this simmer almost an hour and served it over spaghetti pasta then topped it with parmesan and a blend of shredded mexican cheese. We loved this meal!!! Thanks so much for the great chili. This was our first official chili dinner for the fall/winter 2012/13 season and it sure was a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is my very first review on this site, that's how much I enjoyed this recipe! Let me start by saying that my husband is a self-proclaimed chili making master but I never eat his chili because he makes it so rich (aka FATTY) and too spicy for our boys and me to eat. He LOVED this recipe. I didn't have any tomato sauce on hand so I used a jar of Barilla Roasted Garlic pasta sauce. I wanted to make this mild, so I just used a different mix of spices. And that is what makes this recipe so great, you can customize the spices however you wish to make it as mild or hot to suit your taste buds. I also had a small chunk of Velveeta left in the fridge so I melted it up and drizzled it over the chili just before serving. I didn't have anything fancy to serve on the side like cornbread, so I just used saltine crackers. This is great for warming up on cold, winter days, Sunday football gatherings (just serve with chips!), or anytime you want comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I started with this idea, but then it was nothing like it in the end. I used pinto beans, 2 cans diced tomato and chili, 1 big can crushed tomatoes, bag of shredded baby carrots, ground beef, onion, garlic, chili powder, red wine; and put it all in a crock pot for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I doubled the recipe, but instead of 2 cans of tomato sauce, I used 1 can tomato sauce and 1 can of petite diced tomatoes. I also used 2 cans of Kidney beans instead of pintos, because that it what I had in the pantry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is better than my mom's chili. Its quick, simple, and absolutely delicious. My husband raved about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is the perfect recipe, without alot of fussy ingredients! I skip the cayenne, and also add a can of Ranch Style Beans for the pinto beans, and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
use frozen onion, green peppers for ease. Serve with corny corn bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef BradFoods
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is a nice, basic chili. I used a tad more crushed tomatoes, and doubled the garlic. It went very well wish mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Absolutely Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mhoon Blonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States