Melanie's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is my very first review on this site, that's how much I enjoyed this recipe! Let me start by saying that my husband is a self-proclaimed chili making master but I never eat his chili because he makes it so rich (aka FATTY) and too spicy for our boys and me to eat. He LOVED this recipe. I didn't have any tomato sauce on hand so I used a jar of Barilla Roasted Garlic pasta sauce. I wanted to make this mild, so I just used a different mix of spices. And that is what makes this recipe so great, you can customize the spices however you wish to make it as mild or hot to suit your taste buds. I also had a small chunk of Velveeta left in the fridge so I melted it up and drizzled it over the chili just before serving. I didn't have anything fancy to serve on the side like cornbread, so I just used saltine crackers. This is great for warming up on cold, winter days, Sunday football gatherings (just serve with chips!), or anytime you want comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I started with this idea, but then it was nothing like it in the end. I used pinto beans, 2 cans diced tomato and chili, 1 big can crushed tomatoes, bag of shredded baby carrots, ground beef, onion, garlic, chili powder, red wine; and put it all in a crock pot for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I doubled the recipe, but instead of 2 cans of tomato sauce, I used 1 can tomato sauce and 1 can of petite diced tomatoes. I also used 2 cans of Kidney beans instead of pintos, because that it what I had in the pantry. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is better than my mom's chili. Its quick, simple, and absolutely delicious. My husband raved about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is the perfect recipe, without alot of fussy ingredients! I skip the cayenne, and also add a can of Ranch Style Beans for the pinto beans, and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
use frozen onion, green peppers for ease. Serve with corny corn bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef BradFoods
Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is a nice, basic chili. I used a tad more crushed tomatoes, and doubled the garlic. It went very well wish mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Absolutely Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mhoon Blonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was a nice, simple recipe - which is just what I was looking for. I followed made the double batch with the pinto and kidney beans, which was nice. I did think there was too much liquid (I cooked it down a bit before serving) and a bit too "tomato-y", so I might try it with just one can of tomato sauce next time. I left the cayenne out because my little guys can't handle spice yet and my husband and I added some Frank's RedHot to our bowls to add it back in - all of us were happy. :) I'll make this again - I love that it was so quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was delicious. I cooked my own pinto beans and added a little more seasonings than called for. I didn't have any cayenne pepper so added a couple drops of hot sauce. I normally cheat and use packaged seasoning but proably won't again. This is much better for me, too - no additives or preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States