Melanie's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ChefEli
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Amazing recipe. I put it on a bed of rice and doubled the sauce for extras...... GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
A bit too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Wonderful mild chili flavor. Made this exactly as written. It was easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZviLitvinoff
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I don't particularly like chili but this sounded so easy and good I decided to make a double batch. After one delicious cup I am now left with a ridiculous amount of chili for someone who maybe eats chili once a year. It was good though! I doubled everything except for the beef, onion and tomato sauce. Came to the perfect thickness. The spices are great as well. So easy! Hopefully my coworkers will eat it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Great flavor. I added Tabasco instead of cayenne and one jalapeño. Thanks for an easy, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good nice spice not overly spicey just right for me a fan of more mild spices i also used chili beans instead of pinto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very nice recipe. Very easy and simple. I did add more garlic, onion and seasonings. Used Kidney beans and Black beans. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackbeltman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was good chili, I did have to add more chili powder, but other than that it was very quick and it worked great for chili burgers. Thanks for sharing Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I loved it. I did do a little tweak to it and added a can of kidney beans, a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles (Rotel) and some extra garlic powder. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdavis6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Now this is good stuff. I've made a lot of chili in my time and this one made my husband rave. I thought it was a good basic no frills recipe and stands on it's own well enough. I only had a half of a Texas sweet onion. 8 oz. of mexican tomato sauce, a small can of tomato paste to which I added 1 can of beef consomme, Ranch Style beans, chipotle diced tomatoes. The next time I fix this I will add a 1/2 tsp of oregano, cocoa powder, 1 T of vinegar, 1 T sugar, and doubling the chili powder. This was a great starting point though and with a few tweaks will be my own (and Melanie's) 5 star chili. I let this simmer almost an hour and served it over spaghetti pasta then topped it with parmesan and a blend of shredded mexican cheese. We loved this meal!!! Thanks so much for the great chili. This was our first official chili dinner for the fall/winter 2012/13 season and it sure was a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States