Melanie's Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
The family loved this one! I would add more barley next time though, just because we all like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
As with all recipes, I first try them 'as is' even if I've read other reviewers' comments. The soup is thick, almost no broth, not as flavorful and the beef is still chewy though the vegies are perfect. Next time, I stewed the beef in advance so it holds its shape but falls apart when bitten into, adding it and the juices in last 20 min to warm and integrate. I used 4 cups of beef broth and 3 cups of water. I prefer more carrots, so I used 2 cups and omitted the mushrooms and frozen vegies. It was perfect. I still give Melanie kudos for providing a good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This soup is so good that there is never any leftovers in the fridge for long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Very good, although I did make quite a few changes. I added a can of diced tomaotes and 3 cups of tomato juice. I also left out the bag of frozen vegetables and instead put in 1 cup of corn and 1 cup of chopped zucchini. And I changed the chicken broth to beef broth. After all, it's beef soup, right?? Soooo hearty and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
beefy beefy!! tasty tastu!! Yumm Yumm! no more need to be said man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Easy and delicous -- but I made a few changes: for 5 hrs. I slowcooked 2 1/2 lbs. stew beef - cut up with a big dash of worcestershire sauce, garlic and basil; 5 cups beef broth (because I couldn't get the 6th cup to fit in my crock pot); italian frozen veggies (cut up a little); definitely keep the stewed tomatoes and cut up onion, a small can of corn and a small can of peas. I cooked the quick barley separately (and left in the 'fridge until the last heat through.) I will make this recipe until May (because that's when the snow melts around here!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This soup was very easy to make. I didn't have any stew meat on hand but I did have a london broil which I cut up to one inch cubes and followed the rest of the recipe and I doubled the liquid ingredients. When it came time to taste test, I thought that it missed a little something. I reviewed other recipes and noticed that tomatoes or tomato sauce was added. I used a can of tomato sauce and let it simmer a little longer. If you like liquid in your soup, I would definitely double or triple the liquid ingredients because the barley does like to soak it up. Everyone loved this soup and requested I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot especially with all the veggies that are in it I cooked it in a crock pot for the flavors could cook up more and to avoid scorching it's a nice way to warm up on a chilly day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnnie Mendenhall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Really nice soup. I didn't use mushrooms (hubby hates them) and I honestly didn't miss them. I did find that the beef taste needed a bit of a boost so right at the end of cooking I added a shot of beef base concentrate. That was exactaly what the receipe needed. Next time I think I will start with 3 cups of chix stock and 2 cups of beef stock to approximate what I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Leggett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
My family loved this! I did make some slight changes though. I omitted the frozen vegetables and instead added a handful of fresh string beans snapped into small pieces. I also added a tablespoon and a half of chicken boullion (granules)for a little more flavor. This recipie was easy, healthy & hearty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States