Melanie's Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This recipe made the best stew/soup I have ever had. I just cut back the water a little and threw the whole thing in a crock-pot for a few hours. The flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Felt the soup didn't have a lot of depth to it. I added a tin of crushed tomatoes and about a tablespoon each of thyme, parsley and a couple of bay leaves, let it simmer for an extra couple of hours then it was good to go. Good base recipe but needed the extra herbs. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a good base recipe. I left out the mushrooms since my family doesn't like them and added more carrots and more veg. I also used home made BEEF stock -- certainly chicken stock would only detract from the beef flavor I was looking for. Also, I think the recipe should state whether to use regular barley or the quick cooking kind. I used regular myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great soup! I opted to bulk up on the carrots and potatoes instead of adding a frozen veggie mix, just because that's what I had on hand... Also, I added a couple of beef boullion cubes with the stock and water to add a little more flavor. This was a great base for me to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The soup was a bit too thick and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This is also terrific made with lamb stock instead of the canned broth. Lamb bones are very cheap and easy to use for making stock, and if the bones are meaty enough, you can use the lamb meat in the soup instead of beef. Lamb and barley go really well together--give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was fabulous- loved it loved it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Giving 4 stars for the modifications I made. I doubled the water and broth, but then that came out too thin a broth for my liking, so I took out a couple of cups of the broth and whisked in about 2 tbsp of cornstarch, added back to the soup and boiled for 2 minutes, then served. This made it a nice consistency with a good amount of broth. I also used homemade chicken broth, olive oil instead of veg, doubled the garlic (next time I'll add more) and didn't put in the mushrooms (don't care for them). Mine was done in an hour. Was really good and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
i thought this soup was really good. i cooked the barley first because i didn't have the quick cooking kind. i also added some celery and a little more chicken broth at the end because i thought the soup was too quick. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
The family loved this one! I would add more barley next time though, just because we all like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States