Melanie's Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I used beef broth instead of chicken and water and added some other veggies (diced tomatoes, squash, Swiss chard stems). Found the broth to be bland so I added a mushroom soup recipe starter at the end and let it simmer for about 2 hours total. Came out really nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very good! Only change I made was I used fresh green beans and some frozen corn instead of the mixed frozen veggies. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The only change I made was to substitute some of the water with beef broth, which I had on hand. I would do that again. Also, next time I'm not going to add the second amount of oil after the meat is browned. I don't think it's needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
This soup was perfect as a main dish paired with a salad and/or bread. I've made it a couple of times, and both my fiance and daughter LOVED it. Anything that gets finished even as leftovers is a plus in my book! A couple things that I did differently: 1. Added an ENTIRE package of mushrooms instead of a 1/2 cup 2. Used 2 cups of beef stock, 1 cup of chicken stock, and 1 cup of water as the soup base 3. Omitted red potatoes This is a great recipe that I will continue to use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was okay but seemed to lack some flavor. It may need more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this in the crock pot, not pre-cooking anything. I put it together the night before, but did not add the barley or frozen veggies until the next morning, right before cooking. I added all the ounces of liquid together, put in TWO cans of beef broth and then made up the rest of the liquid with water. I added extra garlic. I did 3/4C of barley and next time will add at least 1C. This turned out DELICIOUS! I'm very pleased with this recipe... there was minimal preparation and yet it tasted like I'd been cooking all day (which technically I was!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good! I added some extra fresh veggies and used quick cooking oats that I added at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Pretty good but not exceptional. Will make again but adding more spices and barley :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
So good! And easy. I didn't bother with the additional vegetables and potatoes. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States