Melanie's Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Loved it! It was great to be able to make it on the spur of the moment, without using the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This soup was so good I couldn't sit still and eat it! I am a picky eater however and I don't care for lots of things so I left out the mushrooms, thyme and mixed vegies, I just added extra carrots and potatoes. I also added a little extra liquid at the end as it got real thick. I served it with crusty bread and a fruit salad-awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
My family loved this! I did make some slight changes though. I omitted the frozen vegetables and instead added a handful of fresh string beans snapped into small pieces. I also added a tablespoon and a half of chicken boullion (granules)for a little more flavor. This recipie was easy, healthy & hearty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Great recipe. We loved it. A definite keeper. No need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Easy and delicous -- but I made a few changes: for 5 hrs. I slowcooked 2 1/2 lbs. stew beef - cut up with a big dash of worcestershire sauce, garlic and basil; 5 cups beef broth (because I couldn't get the 6th cup to fit in my crock pot); italian frozen veggies (cut up a little); definitely keep the stewed tomatoes and cut up onion, a small can of corn and a small can of peas. I cooked the quick barley separately (and left in the 'fridge until the last heat through.) I will make this recipe until May (because that's when the snow melts around here!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot especially with all the veggies that are in it I cooked it in a crock pot for the flavors could cook up more and to avoid scorching it's a nice way to warm up on a chilly day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnnie Mendenhall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
My husband says he’s a meat and potato man. He says soup doesn’t fill him up. He likes this!!!! I sauté the vegetable along with the meat and warm the broth in the same pan to use the drippings. This is definitely a keeper. This works great in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I have always loved beef barley soup and this one is one of the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Great soup,my husband and I enjoyed every last spoonfull.Thanks alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
LOVED IT - Didn't have mushrooms but would have put them in ( will next time ) and wish there was MORE of the wonderful broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States