Meg's Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is the only chocolate chip oatmeal cookie recipe I use anymore. I have found that refrigerating the dough for an hour makes a big difference in how the cookies bake. If you like a soft, full cookie I recommend cooling the dough awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
way too much flour, way too little oatmeal. made dry, cake-like chocolate chip cookies with a few oats mixed in. sorry meg, but i was really looking forward to some homemade oatmeal cookies. i guess if you were low on oats but still really wanted to make cookies you could use this recipe and end up with cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Mine came out dry and floury as well- I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These cookies are delish but I had to add an extra cup of oats so they weren't flat. I also lowered the baking time to 14 minutes. Very yummy but I'm going to keep looking for the best oatmeal choc chip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe definitely makes more than 15 cookies as stated. I think we ended up with almost 32 cookies! WHAT I DID DIFFERENT: I added 1 more cup of oatmeal as suggested by another reviewer and put in twice the amount of vanilla. I ran out of unsalted butter so I added 1/2 c. salted butter. I also added about 1/4 c. of coconut flakes just for something extra. I think next time I will toast the coconut flakes first to add even more flavor. After the first batch I baked them for 23-25 minutes instead of 21 minutes. They came out crunchier on the outside but were still moist on the inside. My husband and daughter devoured the first batch before they even finished cooling. My husband isn't usually an oatmeal raisin person so I tried this one out and he said it was a "keeper". Thanks Meg for the yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I just made these beauties! I must add, my family's fav cookie is this one. I try a ton of recipes for this, but I think I found "the one"! I must also add that I too did some little tweaks, like less chips (we like the cookie) and reduced salt to almost nothin' since I had only salted butter on hand (still perfect), but most importantly..I did one stick butter and finished w/1/2C. canola oil (my husband has high BP and it doesn't hurt none to mix up your oil (I know that will make the pastry folks wince), but really they turn out perfect! (You get only half the butter and some good for ya oil--so it's health food now y'all!) I also threw in some finely ground hazelnut about 1/2C(your coffee will love you), but was disappointed by the 42 cookie yeild (I am not counting the fact that dough MUST be sampled!!) Just keep your sampling in check and maybe you'll get the right number! (For the person who didn't like Ms. M's cookies..it may be that you didn't use high quality ingredients?! I have found it can significantly improve the flavor of everything!) Thank you for sharing Ms. M, they are easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Just finished making them and they are awesome! I don't think I made enough I am also going to give some to my co workers. I think maybe more oats could be used. I also used mini-semi sweet chocolates. That's what I had and used so I didn't have to buy some. But I LOVE'em and my 3 year old son does too. It's 9pm and he can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These were very soft and delicious, and i followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Loved this recipe! I like how it uses all brown sugar. The only thing i did different was use 3/4 cup semi sweet morsels, 3/4 cup butterscotch morsels, and 3/4 cup chopped walnuts. They were excellent. Next time (as another reveiwer mentioned) I want to do the white chocolate morsels with macadamia nuts. It sounds like it would fit this cookie PErFECT! I also refrigerated the dough before baking so they wouldnt come out flat. well it worked and i am very happy. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These cookiies are yummy!!!!! one thing i would change is put half the amount of choc. chips. it made TWICE the amount it said it does!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States