Meghan and Jenn's Veggie, Chicken and Herb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
Wonderful!!!! A healthy, delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Quite good but needs a bit of adjustment. I followed the recipe exactly and for us it was a bit too salty and I didn't add any extra salt. Also it's not the prettiest soup. My husband and I enjoyed it though I just need to work out how to reduce the salt content without losing the flavour. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Contrary to what another reviewer stated, this is NOT a healthy soup. way too much sodium, any recipe with buillion cubes is NOT healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I'm glad I chose to ignore the negative reviews and try this recipe. It was great. Very tasty and simple to make. I added some extra garlic and mixed frozen veggies instead of just corn. Perfect for a cold, snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I altered this recipe a bit & enjoyed it thoroughly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I made this one afternoon and loved it! Instead of the chicken cubes I used chicken broth and then half the amount of water, thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Delicious! I was concerned the spices would be strong and I am happy to report I was wrong. I love garlic so I added an extra clove. This is great recipe to use up whatever veggies you have in your fridge or freezer. I used red instead of green peppers and added green zucchini that I sliced into round slices and cut each into quarters. I also has an open can of chicken broth that I used in conjunction with the water and bouillon cubes. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this recipe as part of a soup and salad supper (served with Italian Bread from a Bread Machine). The soup itself is tasty, but (as pointed out by another reviewer) it's not that pretty. Although I did cook it for the recommended time, I didn't add the broccoli until the last half hour. I added a handful of frozen peas and carrots that needed using. If I make this again, I would cook the chicken separately (or just use leftover chicken) and throw it in near the end. Cooking the chicken from a raw state is part of what makes it "not so pretty" - the length of cooking time is the other. This soup could do with a much shorter cooking time. I did add additional boullion for a little more flavor. I also used frozen mixed peppers because I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States