Megaturkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Wow, no carving necessary. You will be able to pull the bones out with ease. I will never change the way I cook turkey again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Dotson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The turkey turned out moist and juicy, and looked great. But, it was slightly lacking in flavor - next time I will add poultry seasoning. I did not care for the stuffing. It turned out soggy and the little flavor it had was weird (maybe the garlic powder - ?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe already uses my basic stuffing recipe that I love, so I decided to try it and we LOVED it. We will definitely make it again, and again, and again. Ours was 13 lbs, and it was just right. Not so many left overs that they will go bad, but just right for a family of 4. The turkey was moist and wonderful and the apples (I used green) were a great touch. I did use salt, pepper and garlic powder on outside of the turkey before putting it in the bag. The hardest part of the recipe was finding the oven bags the day before Thanksgiving, the first 2 stores were sold out! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
megaturkey indeed! This was quite the turkey! the stuffing was a bit wet for the bf, and he complained that there were no seasonings on the turkey itself, but otherwise he liked it. It is a very moist turkey. Mine took 5 hours to cook, but it was also an almost 20 lb turkey, so I am not surprised. If not horrendously flavorful, it is nice and moist. If I do this again I'll salt and pepper the bird itself and rub in some poultry seasoning as well. Thanks for the recipe. Spot on directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The stuffing was perfect. I diced one apple and left the second halved to cover the turkey ends. The apple juice made it moist and had a great flavor. I prefered this over adding wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used this recipe to make my first turkey. It was fabulous! Very moist! Now I'm afraid to stray from this recipe for my second turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Second year making this turkey recipe. If you like a moist turkey than this is the recipe for you. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
i would definitely do this again. i have never cooked a turkey before but i read up on it to cook for some friends. i brined my turkey almost 24 hours, which you shouldn't because that's a little too long. the turkey turned out tasting fine, but my gravy was definitely too salty. i used oranges instead of apples, i cut each orange in half and squeezed the juice over the turkey then stuffed it inside the cavity along with my vegetables, i didn't do the stuffing. i was almost worried that there wasn't going to be enough juice to make gravy but there is so much you'll have plenty. the only bad part was that my turkey stuck to the plastic a little bit and ripped some skin off. my turkey was honestly so tender the drumsticks were falling off when i tried to move the bird to my cutting board. i thought my breast was pretty dry but everyone else thought it was really moist. i would trust them because i don't eat very much roast turkey anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Excellent, very tender and full of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
added a bonus taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shirley zumbrun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States