Megan's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Deeeelish! I would call this Oatmeal Cookie Granola:) I'm a HUGE granola fan and LOVE trying new recipes... this is at the top of my favorites list. The only changes I will make next time is to use all butter in place of the oil, and leave out the sunflower seeds. The granola tastes like oatmeal cookies until I hit a sunflower seed- then it throws the taste off. Awesome recipe Megan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I really, really like this granola. I've been making Almond Maple Granola regularly for over 6 months now, and wasn't sure about trying a new recipe, since I like that one so much. But this one is so very good, also. I really liked the walnuts- left them in big chunks and they're so good that way. I cut the recipe in half and used 2 TBS less honey than listed, and replaced 2 TBS of the oil with water. I baked at 300 for at least twice the amount of time listed- maybe a little more. Just stirred every 15-20 minutes. I'm looking forward to having this for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Super yummy-- I just finished making it and am already planning what to add next time. I used cranberries but I think dried apples and raisins would be tasty. Makes tonnes though-- I halved it and still have plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Update 02/06/07--Had to re-rate it to 5 stars this morning after having it for breakfast--excellent granola, a really hearty taste, lots of nice crunch! Original review 2/5/07: Although this is wholesome & healthy & tasty, I've been spoiled by another granola recipe on this site, so I have to give it 4 stars instead of 5. I left out the pecans & walnuts & used double the almonds. I followed What A Dish's suggestions of a little less honey & water for part of the oil. I liked the addition of honey & cinnamon. Good recipe but I'll probably go back to my old fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I made this for my neighbors for Christmas. I got 3 requests for the recipe and several said it was the best granola they had ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
My breakfast skipping husband LOVES this granola for breakfast. It makes tonnes, but I've still made it 4 times. He eats it with low fat vanilla yogurt. Now my kids are addicted to. It's nice to know they're starting their day without the boxed cereals that are full of preservatives and other chemicals. Also makes a great snack for school. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
So easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mama loves to cook
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
So good! I did choose to ad pumpkin seeds and did not chop the other nuts as finely as the recipes requests simply for my taste preference. This does make a HUGE batch. I would consider scaling it down if you won't eat a whole lot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama loves to cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flatonia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I never thought making granola would be so easy! Next time I might make a larger batch of the stovetop mixture in hopes that the granola might "clump" more. I used the recommended 4 cups of mixed nuts, but if you're not a huge nut lover, I'd scale that back a bit. Also, for the dried fruit, I found a mix at Trader Joe's of dried blueberries, cherries, and strawberries that tasted great. It required closer to 30 minutes in the oven, but overall, very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
WONDERFUL! I tweeked it along with "Ultimate Irresitable Granola" Both are fab! I used the "Splenda" br. sugar - 1/4 cup - and 1 cup honey. Also cut back 1/2cup on the wheat germ and oat bran for 1 cup flax seed that I ground. Instead of sunflowers seeds I used pumpkin seeds. This is so healthy - just got to remember all the carbs. and calories! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States