Megan's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I half the recipe because my household consists of my husband and me and the granola gets soft after two weeks in an air-tight container even. I make the changes as follows because we don't eat a lot of wheat: Instead of the oat bran and wheat germ I replace it with milled flaxseeds (1 c for 15 servings) Instead of the vegetable oil I replace it with coconut oil Also, I have cheap cookie sheets which I've noticed the granola gets crunchier on (I have a nice one that I've used too) and mine does get over done at 20 min. so I bake mine for 17! Love the recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My first time making granola and I had problems with cooking it too long and burning it a little. I made a couple of changes I thought worthy to share. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable. I added unsweatened coconut flakes and pumpkin seeds. Everyone who tasted it said it was the best granola they'd had! Fresh :-) Now to perfect my cooking temp and time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
A very good granola recipe; I made a half-recipe. I omitted the maple syrup, as I didn't have any, and added an equal amount of water with a tablespoon of maple extract. I omitted the salt for personal preference, and added applesauce to replace the oil in order to cut calories. The mixture seemed dry, so I doubled the applesauce and added two T water, which allowed me to moisten all the oat/bran/germ mixture evenly. Next time I'll use two 9x13 cookie sheets (with rims) instead of just one. The mixture baked evenly, but was still fairly moist at the end of twenty minutes. It is a very humid day, which may have contributed, but I wanted a drier mix so I turned the oven off and continued to bake the mixture for another 20 minutes-stirring every 10 minutes-in the cooling oven until I got the results I wanted. I mixed a pineapple/banana/coconut trail mix in half of the mixture to eat as a snack, and left half plain to use over yogurt and cottage cheese, etc. I'm sure I'll be making this again, although I'll stick to a half-batch to make it easily manageable. Thanks for the recipe, Megan and annie9!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
great granola, although i recommend cooking it a bit longer, that way it is more crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I love this recipe and especially appreciated the reviews that caution for over roasting! I wouldn't have known that the granola crisps up as it cools so when you take it out it's still kind of moist! I followed a couple of other suggestions - omitted the brown sugar completely and it was plenty sweet enough for me. I also used 1/2 cup butter instead of the oil - just my preference - and it tasted delicious! One other thing - I wanted to preserve the health benefits of using raw honey so I didn't boil the mixture of honey, syrup and (in my case) melted butter. Worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol M Haggerty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Loved this recipe! I did use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, I used agave instead of syrup because that is what I had on hand and I did not put the brown sugar in because I got distracted when I was making it and forgot. It will burn quick if you don' keep a close eye on it. Now that I have made my first batch, next time I may add coconut or different nuts. Lots of opportunity for mix and match. Others have noted that the cost of ingredients is high which is true but if you compare to a gourmet brand of granola like Bare Naked, you still come out ahead. Super yummy when mixed with yogurt. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I cut this down to 8 servings, and that will give me plenty for a while! I used coconut oil and raw honey but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I think next time I won't chop the nuts so finely, and I'll try boiling the liquid part a little longer to see if it does help it clump better. I baked this at 300 for about 22 minutes, and that seemed right for this amount. The taste is excellent! I think extended family members will like this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I halved this recipe and it still made a LOT of granola. Great if you have a large family you are feeding, but for us I would probably half it again. I ended up making several substitutions as I did not have all ingredients listed in the recipe. I had no wheat germ or oat bran but I had ground flax so I used just that. I had no honey so I used pure maple syrup. I had no sunflower seeds so used what I did have which was filberts and almonds. I also added huge organic coconut flakes and Trader Joe's tropical fruit mix and dates. This is a great base recipe and I was very happy with my results. Definitely will keep this one on file for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I've made this recipe probably hundreds of times; I've had it for breakfast almost every day for years. Obviously I love it. I make a few changes, to make it less sweet and to give it more insoluble fiber: * Skip the maple syrup, but add more oil to make sure the ratio of wet to dry ingredients is unchanged. * Substitute ground flaxseed for some of the oat bran and wheat germ *** Also, I've found that the granola is more reliably crispy if you cook it for 50 min at 275. Note: If you don't have wheat germ, I've found it's still delicious if you substitute oat bran for the wheat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Excellent. I baked this on 300 degrees for 20 minutes. Added dates as well as the raisins. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States