Megan's Amazing Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipe is fantastic!! I loved the flavor. I skipped the salt since the garlic salt and the tomatoes added enough flavor for me. My son loved it. This will be my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGITALRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brusly, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I agree with the title. It's amazing! I was a little leery of not cooking the meatballs before putting them in the sauce, but I simmered them in the sauce with the lid on, kept flipping them, and they were actually done in 30 minutes. This goes under my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kormiston
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We added red pepper flakes a few more herbs and garlic. Very good. We cooked it a little longer (bc we were waiting on the garlic bread) and had to add a little broth to thin it out a bit. Great base and the meat balls were amaze-balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I hate to be Debbie Downer, but neither my hubs or I liked this at all (sorry!). For one, this sauce is WAAAAY too thick! My grocer doesn't sell 16 oz. cans of crushed tomatoes but it's a good thing they don't. Even after adding an entire 28 oz. can of tomatoes, my sauce was super thick, almost a tomato paste consistency. Another problem I had with this recipe was partly my fault. Setting my burner to medium burned my meatballs! Admittedly, I should have stirred every now and then, especially since I simmered everything in my Dutch oven (which isn't non-stick). Everyone's stovetop is different and apparently mine runs hot. I never thought I'd say this, but Jeremy's Italian Spaghetti Sauce & Meatballs blows this out of the water. Maybe this will float your boat, but it didn't do anything for us. Thanks anyways, Megan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I've been searching for a good & easy sauce recipe and finally found it. Delish..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I don't know if using my "old fresh" tomatoes in place of the canned crushed ones had much to do with the flavor, but the red wine really adds to the sauce. (I used a Red German Dornfelder wine & cut back on the sugar.) I didn't follow the recipe exactly in "measurements", but used the listed ingredients to season the sauce & meatballs. I like the mozzarella cheese in the meatballs & did brown them in the oven before adding to the sauce. (I used a fine shredded mozz.) Next time, I want to try adding the raw meatballs to the sauce but will need a lower fat ground beef to be comfortable with that idea. Good recipe to adjust seasonings to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This sauce has a lot to be desired. Too much spices, and it was very acidy. I added some hot pepper flakes and more sugar then it tasted better. The meatballs were O.K. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
There must be something missing or something wrong with the proportions. I had to add water to thin down the sauce and the spices were overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tried it, I love it. However, I replaced the mozzarella in the meatballs with Parmesan, the parsley with basil. Meatballs should be pan-seared until golden brown before being put in the sauce, so that's what I did. I finished them in the sauce which was simmering on low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boris A. Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I really liked this recipe (I'm a Megan too!). I made both the meatballs and tomato sauce and stuck to the recipe pretty dead-on. BUT I struggled with the ingredient portions. My grocery store sells ground beef in 1lb portions, so I went ahead and doubled the meatballs (froze half for later). Also, I could only find crushed tomatoes in 28oz cans - but that ended up being a blessing because if you like plenty of sauce on your pasta, this recipe does not serve anywhere near 6. Next time I'll use the full 28oz and adjust the seasonings/wine accordingly to get more sauce. The meatballs portion of the recipe worked perfectly though - I was able to follow it to a T and had perfect meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States